Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marty Strubczewski
United States
Gettysburg
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
One of the most popular games to be debuted at this years Essen convention was Uwe Rosenberg's a Feast for Odin. Known best for his popular worker placement games; Agricola, Caverna, Le Havre and his abstract game Patchwork. A Feast for Odin has been in development for several years and in 2014 Patchwork was released using a core mechanism from his un-released Viking themed game. Patchwork was a hit and adored by those yearning for a clever 2 player puzzle game. Fast forward to the present and we have a humongous box that takes Uwe's best design achievements and blends them into one game. This usually leads to a mess. But in this case Uwe has created something truly brilliant.

I'm not an Uwe expert. My exposure to his world of games is still relatively fresh. But I know a great game when I see one and A Feast for Odin is an amazing game. Your first 2-3 games will be learning games. It is not light by any means. You will suffer from AP. You won't have a direction due the sandbox nature. You may even get really frustrated trying to puzzle your Tetris pieces to give you the best outcome. But once you become familiar with this Viking landscape he has created for you, you will never turn back.

The options and strategies are vast and the puzzle solving so very rewarding. You can be a farmer and never venture out. You can explore new lands. You can pillage to your hearts content. You can be a hunter, an explorer, a builder, a blacksmith, all for the purpose of hording your goods to be the richest Viking there ever was. The ways in which you achieve those riches are entirely up to you.

2016 has been a very strong year for gaming. A Feast for Odin is one of the best to come out in a field crowded with awesomeness. If this is something that interests you, please play it a handful of times. I promise you that by your 4th play you will be in love.