$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Grand Prix» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tire wear and changing tires rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Derek Roy
Canada
BC
flag msg tools
mb
I think the rules are quite clear... and backed up by the example on Page 11... but push my "logic button" the wrong way. It looks like tire Wear markers remain after a tire change... unless a duration cost penalty is paid to remove them. Correct? Simple logic would suggest that if you change tires, the Wear on the old tires would also go away. I am looking forward to playing my first game with other players soon.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Bishop
United States
Beavercreek
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You're correct on the rules. It seemed odd to me at first. I rationalize it by attributing it to a need to clean out the clag that accumulates in the radiators if you're abusing your tires. Or to stretch it further, perhaps if you're abusing the tires you need a wing change in order to rebalance the car; if you don't take the time for that, you're going to be slower after the stop.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Laudermilk
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But remember that once you have removed 2 points of wear markers, the tire change is "free."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Roy
Canada
BC
flag msg tools
mb
Thank you both for your comments. Just tried my first "4 player" solo game today. Wow! The conditional linking sure makes it feel different from Thunder Alley. We'll see which one the gang likes better.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Horger
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
derekrledr wrote:
I think the rules are quite clear... and backed up by the example on Page 11... but push my "logic button" the wrong way. It looks like tire Wear markers remain after a tire change... unless a duration cost penalty is paid to remove them. Correct? Simple logic would suggest that if you change tires, the Wear on the old tires would also go away. I am looking forward to playing my first game with other players soon.


If you make a tire change you also get to remove two points of wear to your car at the same time for no extra pit duration. So if you changed tires (requires a minimum of 2 Duration, you could also remove 2 tire wear or a tire and a suspension.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Patterson
United States
Iowa City
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jeff Horger wrote:
derekrledr wrote:
I think the rules are quite clear... and backed up by the example on Page 11... but push my "logic button" the wrong way. It looks like tire Wear markers remain after a tire change... unless a duration cost penalty is paid to remove them. Correct? Simple logic would suggest that if you change tires, the Wear on the old tires would also go away. I am looking forward to playing my first game with other players soon.


If you make a tire change you also get to remove two points of wear to your car at the same time for no extra pit duration. So if you changed tires (requires a minimum of 2 Duration, you could also remove 2 tire wear or a tire and a suspension.


I can follow that, I think. The rulebook indicates the removal of 2+ duration wear markers allows a free tire type change; this seems functionally to be the same thing as making a 2-duration tire type change and then getting 2-duration damage markers removed. What confuses me is why, in the second part of the example on page 11, the player removed only one 1-point wear marker for free during the tire type change when there are 3 1-duration markers. I'm guessing it was for illustrative purposes, but it confused me, anyway, since it looks like, per above, two markers could've been removed for a total of 2 duration.

I also think that removing just the one tire wear marker in the example--if I'm still following--may mislead some people to think that *only* tire wear markers can be removed in this way, when Jeff indicates above that any markers are eligible. Ultimately, it doesn't matter, I don't think, but it took me a while to parse it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.