Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Dwarves» Forums » Rules

Subject: Threat card confusion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark walsh
United Kingdom
Salisbury
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Having issues making sense of exactly what happens with threat cards.

The rules clearly state on the back page that defeating the challenge (averting the threat) you discard the card without further consequences. However inside the rules by the threat symbol it says "before discarding a threat card carry out its instructions below the threat symbol."

We have thus been playing in the following manor:

Face threat then

a) pass check and discard with no effects

Or

B) fail check, take effects and discard

This seems to be the correct way but the rules don't explicitly stated failing a threat quest results in discarding it (we don't discard other quests in this way if failed).

Perhaps the German rules are clearer on the subject!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedro Pereira
United Kingdom
Belfast
flag msg tools
See the person next to you? Kill! Kill!!! KILLL!!!!
badge
I'm your baby! Can you feel it?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The threat cards have got ongoing effects that make the game harder until you resolve them.

I think what is meant is that once you complete a threat card, you discard it to cancel (without further consequence) the ongoing effect, but as you discard the card, there is another one time effect that triggers for completing it which you need to apply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ilja Preuß
Germany
Karlsruhe
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
WoofMcMoose wrote:
The rules clearly state on the back page that defeating the challenge (averting the threat) you discard the card without further consequences. However inside the rules by the threat symbol it says "before discarding a threat card carry out its instructions below the threat symbol."


The latter is when you have to discard a threat because you finished a scenario before averting the threat, the way I read it.

So there are really two ways of discarding a threat:

1) averting a threat
- if you pass the check, discard the threat without any further effect
- if you fail the check, the threat stays in play

2) finishing a scenario
- carry out the instructions, then discard
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedro Pereira
United Kingdom
Belfast
flag msg tools
See the person next to you? Kill! Kill!!! KILLL!!!!
badge
I'm your baby! Can you feel it?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That makes more sense now. Thanks for clarifying Ilja.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ashley Ward
England
Salford
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I like the threat cards as a mechanic.

Good way to stop you from smashing through the scenario cards and finishing up quickly.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.