$35.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Action: Spend 2 to draw a card question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Roche
msg tools
So do you still have to pay the €3 to keep a card you have drawn by using an action or ability of a card.
Example: Restricted Area: Spend 2 to draw a card. So do I spend 2 to draw the card and then another 3 if I want to keep it???
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Florian Ruckeisen
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
It will say so on the card. If it just says to "draw a card", you keep it for free, like with Restricted Area. The same is true for any instance you see that black project card icon (on cards or as placement bonus on the board).

In contrast, for instance Business Network tells you to "look at the top card and either buy it or discard it" (and doesn't show that project card icon).
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyler Gobe
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Not the avatar you're looking for
mbmbmbmbmb
The only time you pay 3 to keep a card is the start of the game and when you draw 4 at the start of a turn. If a card effect or board space lets you draw a card, you keep it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Roche
msg tools
Thanks for the quick response guys. Sorted.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Örjan Almén
Sweden
Karlstad
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
... or if a card says you need to pay for the drawn card if you like it to your hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan Booth
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
TylerGoble1 wrote:
The only time you pay 3 to keep a card is the start of the game and when you draw 4 at the start of a turn. If a card effect or board space lets you draw a card, you keep it.

Isn't this one letting you pay for and play the card, skipping your hand?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.