C.K. Au
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
- Fleet size is 4
- Player already has 4 capital ships in unactivated system A
- Player has 2 carriers with a full complement of Fighters
- Player wants to activate system A and move both his carriers there, offload the fighters and then scuttle both carriers to meet the Fleed Limit

Can he do that? Or the moment his 2 carriers enter system A, he has to destroy two ships and if he chose to destroy the carriers, the fighters go kaboom with the carriers?

If the carriers are destroyed, can the fighters "float" in space (assume there are no other carrier or Space Dock in system A)?

Or it is illegal even for him to intentionally move 2 carriers into system A (for eg he cud choose to move the 2 carriers into system A and then destroy the 2 existing cruisers in System A instead to make room for his carriers)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Jarvis
United States
Nashville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Can u land your Fighters before you scuttle your Carrier
jack208 wrote:
- Fleet size is 4
- Player already has 4 capital ships in unactivated system A
- Player has 2 carriers with a full complement of Fighters
- Player wants to activate system A and move both his carriers there, offload the fighters and then scuttle both carriers to meet the Fleet Limit

Can he do that? Or the moment his 2 carriers enter system A, he has to destroy two ships and if he chose to destroy the carriers, the fighters go kaboom with the carriers?


According to the FAQ, if your fleet exceeds the fleet supply , you must immediately remove ships until the fleet suply is met. The immediately would mean you would not have time to unload the Fighters, also see the next answer.


Quote:
If the carriers are destroyed, can the fighters "float" in space (assume there are no other carrier or Space Dock in system A)?


This would be illegal. Fighters cannot exist without something there to support them (Carrier, Space Dock, War Sun). The exception for this is if you have the Advanced Fighters tech (which allows Fighters to move on their own), but if you have this, then the Fighters will count towards Fleet Supply if there is not a Carrier/Space Dock/War Sun present.



Quote:
Or it is illegal even for him to intentionally move 2 carriers into system A (for eg he cud choose to move the 2 carriers into system A and then destroy the 2 existing cruisers in System A instead to make room for his carriers)?


No, that's fine. You can move more ships than allowed into a system, but if you do then you must immedaitely discard down to Fleet supply. A reason you may want to do this, is techincally you cannot Scuttle units until Step 1 of the Status phase (qualifying for objectives). So if you need a ship somewhere else, you can move it, immediately discard it, and then rebuild it somewhere else on your next turn.

Jeff
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aik Yong Heng
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
Wilayah Persekutuan
flag msg tools
Visit me @ aikyong.com!
badge
This is Bubbles the pig and his best friend is Panda!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since I played in this game, I feel that a more precise question would be:

"is it legal to move a carrier with a complement of fighters to a system with a warsun, scuttle the carrier (due to fleet limit) and let the warsun carry the fighters that came in with the recently scuttled carrier? (warsun has capacity)"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricky
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Can u land your Fighters before you scuttle your Carrier
Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fighters, while transported by carriers, etc, are slightly different than GFs, in that they are pretty much considered to be "in space" all the time; all that they require is SUPPORT. Thus, if you made this move, and scrapped the Carrier, as long as there continued to be enough support in the system for the fighters, they could continue to exist.

However, if there were GFs on the carriers, they would die; the ships are destroyed immediately, and you can only offload GFs during the Planetary Landing phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C.K. Au
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hey sigmazero, you r everywhere! LOL

I re-read the rules and yes you are correct that we cannot "voluntarily" move ships into a system that is already at the max on Fleet Supply as the move I proposed at the start of this thread cannot be done in the 1st place.

I also agree with you that the rule for "immediately remove/destroy" ships is meant to be used if the system exceeds the Fleet Supply due to other factors.

The Fleet Supply Area (page 21)
A player may never move units, build units, or otherwise acquire units in any system so that the number of ships herein exceed the number of Command Counters in his Fleet Supply area.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.