GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

8,959 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Simultaneous win & lose? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jamie Riehl
United States
Eau Claire
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So the GOO has awakened, we have one non-eliminated investigator. We've completed all the mysteries and have to kill the GOO, when we do we win. In the encounter phase, the final investigator and GOO engage in combat, and each deals enough damage to kill the other. By combat rules, deaths happen simultaneously. So we win, because the GOO is defeated! And we lose, because all investigators are eliminated! Do we win or lose, or both?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ioannis Raptis
Greece
flag msg tools
I am pretty sure you can't win and lose altogether - draw is an option
Seriously now, I've read it somewhere which I can't recall right now but thematically it will count as a win to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenneth H
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In short, I believe you win. The big bad is dead, what do your lives matter?

When you have to draw a Mythos card and cannot, you lose the game. However, it was ruled that if you complete your last mystery during the preceding turn, you win. You still get to trigger the "end of the mythos phase" language on most mysteries.

I would treat this in the same way. From a rules standpoint, you win and lose at the same time, so the investigators can choose what happens. From a thematic standpoint, this might even be the most Lovecraftian outcome (at least as long as there's one investigator who went insane but can later write about the whole affair). The world was saved and took little notice but for the few brave stalwarts who averted disaster and died.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xelto G
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When two events happen simultaneously, the players determine which order they resolve in. So you have the choice of winning or losing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamie Riehl
United States
Eau Claire
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lovecraft wins. It is so ruled
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds like you had a really fine, cinematic game with a spectacular climax !!

Congratulations on your well-earned win.

We will burn incense in your character's shrine this night.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John S
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From the reference guide under Winning/Losing

Quote:
The game immediately ends when an effect specifies that “Investigators
win the game,” or “Investigators lose the game.”

In the rare circumstance that both of these effects happen at the
same time, investigators win the game.


So you would win!
13 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.