The Hotness
The Hotness has gone cold...
 Thumb up
1 Posts

Dino Detektive» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarifications to some misinterpreted rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Fleming
United States
flag msg tools

Since Dino Detektive comes with a rulebook written only in German, some helpful BGG members have posted English-language rules or rule interpretations. That's great. Yet in a few cases their interpretations are wrong:

(A) Some members say that a player is limited to playing a single movement card on a turn. This is incorrect.

He can play several movement cards on a single turn (and indeed on his first turn may even choose to play all four cards.) The ability to play multiple cards is mentioned in at least two places in the German rulebook. So, to consider the extreme example where a player decides to play all four cards, he could choose to move his Researcher 1 plot, his Assistant 3 plots, and his Dog 4 plots. (On his next turn he would of course have to collect fossils, as he no longer has any movement cards left.)

(B) A phrase from frogmind's translation has drawn inquiry: "If there are no possible placements for the dice rolls then plots are filled in numerical order beginning with area one - only one area will be filled per round in this manner." This is a misinterpretation, unsupported by the German rulebook.

If upon rolling the dice it proves impossible to place dinosaur bones tiles (which can happen for a variety of reasons), no tiles are placed. The players proceed normally, searching for and collecting only those bone tiles currently on the board. Per the German rulebook it's stated that if after rolling the dice there are an insufficient number of bone tiles to cover all qualifying discovery sites, plots containing qualifying discovery sites are filled in numerical order, starting with the lowest numbered plot containing a qualifying discovery site (which may or may not be plot #1). This will result in all unplaced bone tiles being placed, with the game now entering its final round.

-- John
 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.