Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Pillars of the Earth: Builders Duel» Forums » Rules

Subject: Return of the Madonna + 1x card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Don Riddle
United States
Leesburg
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a player wants to use Return of the Madonna on a 1x card which they currently have a character marker on, what happens?
Do they get to use it twice and then take it into their hand?
Do they use it twice and discard it?
Can they use the card once and for the "twice" put it in their hand for later?
Seems strange that the usual "no 1x cards" restriction was left off this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasvik -
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
riddle13 wrote:
If a player wants to use Return of the Madonna on a 1x card which they currently have a character marker on, what happens?
Do they get to use it twice and then take it into their hand?
Do they use it twice and discard it?
Can they use the card once and for the "twice" put it in their hand for later?
Seems strange that the usual "no 1x cards" restriction was left off this.


As we didn´t find any contrary ruling (and as it was not expressively forbidden on the card itself) we agreed that the "1x"-card could, in this case (Return of the Madonna), be used twice in the way that after the first use it just stayed open in front of the player owning that card for a later use.

The german rules are saying that in one single turn multiple "1x"-cards may be used in combination. So it seems that our understanding is indetended.

However, in no case the "1x"-cards go "in your hand" but will be put in front of you instead. And they have to be discarded unused if they were not used before the stack "A" or "B" ran empty.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Brown
United States
Carmel
IN
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
riddle13 wrote:
If a player wants to use Return of the Madonna on a 1x card which they currently have a character marker on, what happens?
Do they get to use it twice and then take it into their hand?
Do they use it twice and discard it?
Can they use the card once and for the "twice" put it in their hand for later?
Seems strange that the usual "no 1x cards" restriction was left off this.


The way we play may be in error, but we assume no "person" card was meant to say "no 1x" cards. It just makes the game flow better.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Riddle
United States
Leesburg
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shadowjump wrote:
riddle13 wrote:
If a player wants to use Return of the Madonna on a 1x card which they currently have a character marker on, what happens?
Do they get to use it twice and then take it into their hand?
Do they use it twice and discard it?
Can they use the card once and for the "twice" put it in their hand for later?
Seems strange that the usual "no 1x cards" restriction was left off this.


The way we play may be in error, but we assume no "person" card was meant to say "no 1x" cards. It just makes the game flow better.

While I agree that it seems that this card should have the "no 1x" restriction, Return of the Madonna is not a "person" card. As explained in another thread (because I was unsure on this also), the "person" cards are only meant to specify the handful of red/blue bordered cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.