OK, I checked the card now and see your confusion. It states:
General. Before choosing your Action Die, discard the Activation token from this card to place on Elves Recruitment token in Fallen Bridge, or to make an Archery attack.
If you read this as just '...., or make an archery attack.' the interpretation you suggest would be possible. But the 'to' refers to the discarding of the token, so it's necessary for the Archery attack also.
So, now I am 100% certain. According to both the rules and Thranduil's card, you discard his token to use Archery.