Figures do not block line of sight to or from a Massive figure.
My assumption is that when it says "figure" it is referencing ALL figures, with no size distinction. When I think that through, it seems like there is a lot missing.
Logically figures of the same size should block LOS for all figures of the same size or smaller.
Example, if I'm playing with two bantha's, and they are in a hallway 2 squares wide, my opponent should not be able to draw LOS through 1 bantha to get to another bantha.
I could see some thematic argument for ATSTs that you could fire through their legs, but outside of that all other Massive and Large figures seem to fit into the example above. I also don't think it makes sense to make character specific exceptions (unless an ability allows for it). Am I missing something, or is this just one of those rules
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
The next total solar eclipse holiday in 2017 in the USA.
Interpret literally. Figures do not block line of sight to or from a Massive figure. What abilities the other figures have or do not have does not matter.
It will be the easier to get line of sight the bigger the target is, regardless of other figures.
There are so many combinations that you'll have a lot of house-ruling to do if you want to be 100% thematic. On the other hand you may find thematic justifications for having line of sight to a Bantha even with another in the way.