$35.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Run card trashed during a run rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brendan Riley
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Nos operamur, te ludere
badge
"Life is more fun if you play games." - Roald Dahl
mbmbmbmbmb
I looked for this and couldn't find it -- sorry if it's a repeated question.

A runner used Keyhole to make a run on my R&D, and I rezzed Fairchild 2. They had 2 credits and 2 clicks left, but I had Heinlein grid on the server.



My understanding is they have to break subroutines before any resolve, then any unbroken resolve. If they want to break sub 1 and sub 3 by spending clicks, what happens next:

1 - My heinlein grid takes their 2 credits
2 - subroutine 2 fires which trashes their keyhole (the only installed card)
3 - they continue the run. Do they get the effect of the keyhole?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clyde W
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
Red Team
badge
#YOLO
mbmbmb
Yes, Keyhole's run effect lasts the entire run even if it's trashed.
4 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan Riley
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Nos operamur, te ludere
badge
"Life is more fun if you play games." - Roald Dahl
mbmbmbmbmb
clydeiii wrote:
Yes, Keyhole's run effect lasts the entire run even if it's trashed.


But there are other cards where a mid-turn action can disrupt their effect. For example,



Puts two tags on the runner. If you then play



You swap it for one of the agendas they have, and now the text box is blank and the last part, "When the turn on which you scored Breaking News ends, the Runner loses 2 tags." does not come into play.

I'm having trouble seeing how that's different than trashing keyhole. Do you know if this is errata'd somewhere, or there's a guide to how that works?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. Kern
Germany
Gernsheim
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
"When" signals that everything coming after this keyword, is a conditional ability (see Rulebook "Additional Rules"). The conditional ability of Breaking News: "When the turn on which ..." triggers only when the trigger condition is met and the card is still in play. If you swap the agenda with Exchange of Information it becomes blank, so the conditional ability is gone and can't trigger.

In the case of Keyhole, there is no "when". So everything triggers as soon as you spend the Click.
2 
 Thumb up
0.30
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan Riley
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Nos operamur, te ludere
badge
"Life is more fun if you play games." - Roald Dahl
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.