$20.00
$15.00
$5.00
Daniel Minotto II
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mb
I'm relatively new to the niche board gaming world. I've played about 25 'designer' games and enjoy most types of games. I've noticed that several games I've purchased and enjoy require a lot of point counting at the end, which, though I don't mind too much, can be anti-climatic. My cousin with whom I play often, is not a fan of such games.

So I'm looking for peoples top 5 Essential games for the more experienced gamer with which I can round out my collection some! 5 games that don't require point counting at the end to determine the winner!

Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pater Absurdus
United States
Carrollton
Texas
flag msg tools
There's really no wrong way to use a margarita pool
badge
"What is best in Life? To crush your enemies, to see them driven before you, and to hear the lamentations of their women."
mbmbmbmbmb
Most of the games I consider essential involve some point counting at the end.

Innovation: involves frequent point counting during the game because that is a factor in whether you can get achievements or not. Rarely any point counting at the end of the game.

Through the Ages: Points are gained at the end of the game but that is far from anti-climactic. This is an amazing game and incredibly good with two players but is very heavy.

Fury of Dracula (third edition) is not a point based game. Either Dracula is killed and instantly loses or he gets to 13 points and instantly wins. It is good and fun for 2 players but is also fairly heavy.

I would possibly recommend Suburbia but you have to determine who won the visible and personal goals and divvy out those points. If that counts as point counting then it is out. Arguably through the ages would be out as well but it is pretty exciting to gain those points at the end while suburbia's goals are fun but less exciting so could be considered anti-climactic I suppose.