Lieven De Puysseleir
Belgium
Leuven
flag msg tools
trust me, I'm a dentist
badge
we don't lie, we use statistics
mbmbmbmbmb
My other half keeps asking me for "fun" games, with that she means games that make people laugh whilst playing. whistle

Like in "comedy".
Myself however, I'm not too keen on "comedy" because I'm difficult I guess, difficult for me to find it "funny".

Don't get me wrong, I like to laugh and during games with the groups, we laugh a lot, mostly not about the game itself though.

but she wants games to make her laugh. so yeah.. I'm lost... please help!

A sample game that we did like (not for the game but for the theme) is Redneck Life
But that game only gets played once every couple years because if repeated too soon, it isn't funny at all. gulp

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Quantum Jack
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rulebooks and walkthroughs of

Dungeon Lords

Space Alert

Galaxy Trucker

By chvatil are hilarious. The games (and, dungeon petz probably, but I dont own it) are solid games in the serious deep thinking gamer way, but are themed very tongue in cheek, making fun of a whole genre kind of way.

Smash Up ends up with some hilarious combos that yield unexpected results.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
"I was born not knowing and have had only a little time to change that here and there."
mbmbmbmbmb
I personally find any attempt to make me laugh through some game text or art usually falls flat and will stop being funny after the first time playing anyway. I find the laughter has to come from the group itself. The games most conducive to this are party games.

The hardest I remember laughing in games is probably Telestrations and Time's Up!.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paradox Games
msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
I had a blast as a kid with the Mad games.

If you like monopoly games, there's The Mad Magazine board game.