Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Falling Sky: The Gallic Revolt Against Caesar» Forums » Rules

Subject: Oppida rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Williams
United States
Midlothian
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This card is confusing. In a 2-player game if you're playing as Averni and Belgic. As the Arverni can you take the action and place Belgic ally tokens down on subdued spaces since the card says "any available gallic allied tribes desired". It doesn't specifically say your faction.

A lot of the cards are really odd to read grammatically so I'm just trying to understand how this wording works.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex P
France
La Plaine St-Denis
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you read it literally would the game break somehow? Literally is probably the way to go.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
GammaGoblinz wrote:
This card is confusing. In a 2-player game if you're playing as Averni and Belgic. As the Arverni can you take the action and place Belgic ally tokens down on subdued spaces since the card says "any available gallic allied tribes desired". It doesn't specifically say your faction.

A lot of the cards are really odd to read grammatically so I'm just trying to understand how this wording works.
Full card text is always appreciated since it saves those helping you having to look it up
Oppida wrote:
Hillforts: Place any Available Gallic Allied Tribes desired at any Subdued Cities not under Roman Control. Then replace any Gallic
Allies at any Cities desired with Available Citadels of the same Faction.
As you already wrote, the card says any faction and that's exactly what it means.
Yes, this is more powerful in a two player game than in a four player game where it would help another player.

Most of the unusual grammar is because the text is written to mean exactly what it says.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodger Samuel
United States
Beaver Falls
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had a dispute about this in a two-player game. We both agreed that the Arverni [who were playing the Event] could use it to place Belgic Allies/Citadels. The disagreement was over whether the Arverni could place both Arverni and Belgic Allies/Citadels in different areas.

Humorously, altho I was the Roman/Aedui player, I argued that my opponent could use the card to place units of both factions, while he felt that he needed to pick one or the other.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
DrZaat wrote:
We had a dispute about this in a two-player game. We both agreed that the Arverni [who were playing the Event] could use it to place Belgic Allies/Citadels. The disagreement was over whether the Arverni could place both Arverni and Belgic Allies/Citadels in different areas.

Humorously, altho I was the Roman/Aedui player, I argued that my opponent could use the card to place units of both factions, while he felt that he needed to pick one or the other.
I agree with you. The card doesn't say "any gallic allies of one faction", so they can be from different factions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.