$35.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Mechs vs. Minions» Forums » Rules

Subject: Order of minions attack. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Yisu Wang
United Kingdom
Cardiff
flag msg tools
mb
What is the order of resolving minions attack? or the attacking resolve simultaneously (do 1 damage as long as your Mech or bomb is next to a minion in the beginning of the phase)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Makos
United Kingdom
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
They attack simultaneously. Count how many minions are orthogonally adjacent to your Mech and draw that many damage cards. Then, resolve them one at a time.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Cantrell
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
cockbongo wrote:
They attack simultaneously. Count how many minions are orthogonally adjacent to your Mech and draw that many damage cards. Then, resolve them one at a time.


This; it also happens in player order. So the first player resolves their damage first before the next player draws their damage cards. This is typically beneficial (an adjacent Fuel Tank might destroy all the minions around your ally) but it's potentially problematic, like when you draw a haywire control and push your ally into more minions.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan Lopuszanski
United States
North Wales
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
So hear me roar! RAWR!
badge
Her Serenity, The Lady of Pain.
mbmbmbmbmb
Riot Kades wrote:
cockbongo wrote:
They attack simultaneously. Count how many minions are orthogonally adjacent to your Mech and draw that many damage cards. Then, resolve them one at a time.


This; it also happens in player order. So the first player resolves their damage first before the next player draws their damage cards. This is typically beneficial (an adjacent Fuel Tank might destroy all the minions around your ally) but it's potentially problematic, like when you draw a haywire control and push your ally into more minions.


We had a similar question. The rules make it sound like you draw each damage one at a time and re-calculate for each minion. It says something along the lines of "resolve the card first because this might change the damage" or something which was very confusing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Hostetler
United States
Warminster
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
They technically attack in player order. Only multiple minions attacking the same player attack simultaneously.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yisu Wang
United Kingdom
Cardiff
flag msg tools
mb
What about resolving on bomb? say in mission 1, it has 1 health left and surrounded by minions; I have Mech with level 3 Fuel Tank next to bomb too.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pratik Shrestha
United States
Auburn Hills
Michigan
flag msg tools
yisuwang527hotmail wrote:
What about resolving on bomb? say in mission 1, it has 1 health left and surrounded by minions; I have Mech with level 3 Fuel Tank next to bomb too.


Here's how we've been resolving it to avoid confusion.

(Damage is received in Player Order)
Step 1: Player 1 checks to see how many minions surround him. And will draw this many damage cards.
Step 2: Draw X number of cards, resolving them one at a time.
Step 3: Next Player 2 NOW checks to see how many minions surround him. Repeat Step 2.
Step 4: Next Player 3 NOW checks to see how many minions surround him. Repeat Step 2.
Step 5: Next Player 4 NOW checks to see how many minions surround him. Repeat Step 2.
Step 6: Bomb NOW checks to see how many minions are adjacent. Take damage accordingly.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that the order of attacking Mechs befre they attack the Bomb is mentioned in the Mission 1 rules. This rule only applies to Mission 1; other missions with a Bomb might provide a different rule.

You'll find on the Back On Mission page:
Mission 1 Dossier wrote:
Process Minion Damage in player order starting with the First Player, and only then proceed to damaging the Bomb.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.