$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The U.S. Civil War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Immediate Kentucky response to invasion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
rocky mount
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Scenario 1861 is in its last Action Phase (Union forces have already finished their last Action Phase) of the Fall turn. The Confederates are desperate to gain VP as the Union currently holds 7 VP. The 2SP Rebs in Nashville look North at an empty Bowling Green and decide to invade Kentucky and occupy the objective town thus winning the game.

Here is the question. How "immediate" is Kentucky's response to being invaded in 1861? Can Kentucky place its Union Militia in Bowling Green as soon as the Rebs step across the border in hopes of defending the town? Or does immediate mean after the Rebel action is complete thus the Rebs win without a fight?

17.1.3 defines invasion as moving an SP or General into a hex entirely within Kentucky or into a hex containing a town, city or port.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Dauphinais
United States
Chesterfield
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Immediate means control of all of the Objective Hexes in Kentucky immediately go over to the opposing player (the Union player in this case).

Militia can only be placed on the map from their Holding Box during the portion of the Reinforcement phase when Displaced units are placed. So, the Kentucky Militia is NOT immediately placed when Kentucky is invaded.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
rocky mount
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks Jim.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Varner
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
rockymount wrote:
Scenario 1861 is in its last Action Phase (Union forces have already finished their last Action Phase) of the Fall turn. The Confederates are desperate to gain VP as the Union currently holds 7 VP. The 2SP Rebs in Nashville look North at an empty Bowling Green and decide to invade Kentucky and occupy the objective town thus winning the game.


I don't think this would win the game for the CSA.

"During the End Phase award the Confederate player 2 VPs for each Objective Hex in a Northern State (not Border State) that the Confederate player controls."

Even though Kentucky would join the North upon invasion, it would remain a "Border State".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.