$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: 3 x fire questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Glyn Brown
msg tools
As always, apologies if these have been answered elsewhere, or they have obvious answers, its just we had a lot of fire in our game last night, and a few situations popped up we hadn't seen before.

Firstly, the RR says:
"Whenever a monster starts its activation in a space containing fire or moves into space containing fire it suffers one damage"
So if a monster is instructed to move 2 spaces towards the nearest investigator, how much damage does it take if it starts on a fire space, then moves through a fire space, and finally finishes its move in another fire space.
We've been playing it as 3 damage.

Secondly, if an investigator moves into a fire space as one action, he/she takes a damage, and if they perform another action in that space they will take another damage - fine. But what happens if that investigator chooses not to take a second action (maybe because they are wounded and can't just keep moving). Does this count as a "Forfeit" therefore one damage, or does forfeit have to come from a game effect e.g. evade checks?
We've been playing inaction cause another damage.

Finally, William Yorick's skill says "Whenever a monster is defeated, gain 1 clue." Does a monster who dies solely through fire effects count as defeated?
We've been playing yes.

Cheers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Filpus
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
brownloaf wrote:
As always, apologies if these have been answered elsewhere, or they have obvious answers, its just we had a lot of fire in our game last night, and a few situations popped up we hadn't seen before.

Firstly, the RR says:
"Whenever a monster starts its activation in a space containing fire or moves into space containing fire it suffers one damage"
So if a monster is instructed to move 2 spaces towards the nearest investigator, how much damage does it take if it starts on a fire space, then moves through a fire space, and finally finishes its move in another fire space.
We've been playing it as 3 damage.


Agreed. It started in a space containing fire and then moved into a fire space twice.

Quote:
Secondly, if an investigator moves into a fire space as one action, he/she takes a damage, and if they perform another action in that space they will take another damage - fine. But what happens if that investigator chooses not to take a second action (maybe because they are wounded and can't just keep moving). Does this count as a "Forfeit" therefore one damage, or does forfeit have to come from a game effect e.g. evade checks?
We've been playing inaction cause another damage.


The RRG entry on Forfeit suggests it's only for involuntary effects. Other entries that use the term "forfeit" are evade checks and a push/steal with insufficient success on the roll. (And monsters failing to move through a barricade) So I'd rule it doesn't cause damage.

Quote:
Finally, William Yorick's skill says "Whenever a monster is defeated, gain 1 clue." Does a monster who dies solely through fire effects count as defeated?
We've been playing yes.


RRG, page 12, Monster: "If a monster suffers damage equal to its health—the value shown in the top corner of the monster menu—that monster is defeated and discarded." It doesn't matter where the damage comes from.

Quote:
Cheers
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with Greg.

Forgoing an action is not forfeiting it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glyn Brown
msg tools
Great,
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Austin Fleming
United States
West Covina
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I disagree; if you are standing around in the middle of a fire, you are going to get burned. We have always played that you take the damage even if you don't use your action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
anoirtrou wrote:
I disagree; if you are standing around in the middle of a fire, you are going to get burned. We have always played that you take the damage even if you don't use your action.

There are no rules that support your interpretation.

The rules section for "Forfeit" is clear that it only applies when your action is cancelled by something like an evade check. Hence, choosing to do fewer than two actions is not forfeiting your action. Nothing in the Fire section tells you to take damage when you aren't performing an action nor moving either.

So the rules are unambiguous here. If you choose to do nothing in your activation, you take no damage from Fire in your space.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Carrington
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I agree Greg also

Taking actions is not mandatory

RR

Action
During an investigator’s turn, he performs up to two actions.
(the up to is repeated under Turn and Investigator Phase)

Fire
^^After an investigator in a space containing Fire performs an action
other than the move action, if there is Fire in his space, he suffers
one facedown Damage.
• Whenever an investigator forfeits an action in a space
containing Fire, he suffers one facedown Damage.

So as choosing not to take an action is not an action itself, you can safely stand in fire doing nothing at all.

Thematically you are probably trying to avoid getting hurt, possibly wafting the flames towards the nearest monster ;-)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul S
United Kingdom
Leeds
West Yorks
flag msg tools
DARK IN HERE, ISN'T IT?
mbmbmbmbmb
RockSummoner wrote:
possibly wafting the flames towards the nearest monster ;-)


I love this image laugh

Keep seeing the character waving arms madly, and blowing through pursed lips, "that way, flames, that way!"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Cioci
United States
Attleboro
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
RockSummoner wrote:
I agree Greg also

Taking actions is not mandatory

...

So as choosing not to take an action is not an action itself, you can safely stand in fire doing nothing at all.


...so you are saying if I were to follow the RR to the letter I could do nothing in my fire space indefinitely and take zero damage. Wait, what? ARRRGGH! Some people would call that 'legal' and they would be correct. I call it 'cheesing the system'.

The rules reference also doesn't say anything about when a fire breaks out on my space. If I were being literal to the RR, as long as I don't move/do no official actions, I am again fireproof because I didn't move into a space with fire in it.

I believe this was just a mistake, an accidental omission.

To cover these issues, here is my house 'fire on your space prerequisites' rule:

1. It is the beginning of your turn and you are in a space with fire. As your first action, you MUST perform a move action or an 'extinguish the flames' action (passing evade checks where necessary), otherwise you suffer 1 facedown damage.

2. If you are in the same fire space for your second action, you have just lit a fire on your space for your first action, or fire has just broken out on your space for any reason: Once again, you MUST perform a move action or an 'extinguish the flames' action (passing evade checks where necessary), otherwise you suffer 1 facedown damage.

3. All other fire rules according to the RR apply for everything else.

Rinse and repeat as necessary.





1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.