GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

7,805 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
22 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Clank!: A Deck-Building Adventure» Forums » Rules

Subject: 3 more questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Bridge
United States
Roanoke
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
1) "Or" cards, like Whiskers the Cat (I think that's her name). In this case, the Dragon Attacks OR Remove 2 Clank. What if I have only 1 clank in the pool, or even zero clank? Can I still choose the remove clank option, or MUST I choose the dragon attacking in this situation.

2) Cards that "remove clank". Can/Will they also remove clank of other players, or only my own? For example, I have to play a card that says "remove 2 clank", and I don't have any in the pool, but my opponents do. Do I give them back their own clank? (Hoping the answer is No.)

3) Does card text have to be carried out in order? Or can the steps be interrupted by other cards you draw/play in your turn? I forget the example from last night, but it was something like removing 2 clank and drawing a card. There was only 1 clank of his, but then the card he drew was Stumble? Does the "remove 2 clank last till the end of the turn, so he could remove the clank he just drew as well?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Georg Wolgast
Sweden
Lund
Skåne
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't pretend to be an expert, but this is how I interpret these questions:

You have to choose 1 with the OR cards, but you can choose 'Remove 2 clank' even if you have no clank.

You can only ever remove your clank.

All effects last until the end of your turn, so you can retroactively remove the clank you draw.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonio Tang
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
GeorgW wrote:
You have to choose 1 with the OR cards, but you can choose 'Remove 2 clank' even if you have no clank.

I don't think you can choose to remove something you don't have. Designer?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Hendee
United States
Frisco
Texas
flag msg tools
I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Whenever you become anxious or stressed, outer purpose has taken over, and you have lost sight of your inner purpose. Your state of consciousness is primary. All else is secondary.
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
4ntonio wrote:
GeorgW wrote:
You have to choose 1 with the OR cards, but you can choose 'Remove 2 clank' even if you have no clank.

I don't think you can choose to remove something you don't have. Designer?

From the rules.
"Some very sneaky cards cause you to remove Clank! For each
negative Clank! you get, remove one of your Clank! from the
Clank! Area. If you don’t have enough Clank! there, you can
instead avoid adding Clank! later in the turn if an effect would
make you do so. Any leftover negative Clank! is lost when your
turn ends."
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonio Tang
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
PeterHendee wrote:
From the rules.
"Some very sneaky cards cause you to remove Clank! For each
negative Clank! you get, remove one of your Clank! from the
Clank! Area. If you don’t have enough Clank! there, you can
instead avoid adding Clank! later in the turn if an effect would
make you do so. Any leftover negative Clank! is lost when your
turn ends."

Ah, yes. That rule. I stand corrected.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Peterson
msg tools
badge
Let's Go Royals!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played this wrong last night so thanks for the clarification! Those clank reducers seem much stronger now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Bridge
United States
Roanoke
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
So, to clarify, can we choose an option on an "OR" card that will basically have no effect at the time? (Like removing 2 clank from the pool when we have none in there?)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Spak

Cambridge
Massachusetts
msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's right, you can pick either option on an "or" card regardless of current game state. (You could also, for example, choose the healing option on a shrine even if you were at full health - though I can't really imagine why you would.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.