Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Mechs vs. Minions» Forums » Rules

Subject: Movement and Damage Questionns rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Chau
United States
flag msg tools
Hello, I just played the game for the first time last night and had some questions arise from it.

1. If only partial movement is possible does the movement happen? For example if I am instructed to move 2 spaces forward but it is only possible to move 1, will i move into that space or not move at all?

2. For damage mitigation cards like skewer and fuel tank does it block more than 1 damage at a time? The wording is slightly different on each of the cards making me a bit confused. Skewer's wording implies it can entirely negate damage in the case multiple minions hit you at once. Fuel tank's wording makes it sound like it negates one damage card due to the usage of the word "a damage card."

Skewer: "before drawing damage, you may scrap the minion"

Fuel Tank: "if about to take damage: instead of drawing a damage card, you may scrap this fuel tank card stack"

Thank you in advance for any answers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Fleming
United States
McKinney
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. You move as much as you can.

2. It's actually the opposite of what you think. Skewer only negates one damage. Fuel Tank negates all damage because it kills all of the minions that would damage your mech before they have the chance to deal that damage. There's at least one other thread in the forums where the developers ruled on this. If you search the forums you should be able to find it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Short answer: Fuel Tank is all damage, Skewer is a single damage.

Long Answer: There is one way to handle multi-damage situation that does make the card current text variations work as intended.

When drawing multiple damage cards, you should draw them all before you resolve any of them. However, you should consider them drawn one at a time when considering mitigating them via a card that blocks damage.

Here's how that works in practice with three of the cards that allow you to avoid damage when attacked by multiple minions.

Fuel Tank: You would prepare to draw the card for the first minion before drawing any others. If you discard the Fuel Tank stack to not need to draw that card, you kill all the minions around you. Hence, the others that would have damaged you aren't there any more and you ignore them. You end up not taking any damage from the minions.

Skewer: You can discard the Minion on Skewer to avoid drawing any one of the single cards you would draw. The other minions still surround you and you will need to draw cards for the rest. After drawing the remaining cards, resolve them one at a time.

Barrel Roll: This card says that instead of drawing damage, you instead 'take no damage'. Thus, when used, you won't draw any more cards either. Again, you end up taking no damage from the minions, but it's for a different reason to Fuel Tank.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Cantrell
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Both these replies are correct. Sorry for the confusion here.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.