$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Mechs vs. Minions» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mission 3 specific questions [CONTAINS SPOILERS] rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carmine Migliore
United Kingdom
Stoke-on-Trent
Staffordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When the Boss Mech moves does he leave the 4 spaces he currently occupies or only 2?

GET OVER HERE (Boss card) - roll rune die to determine which player moves to the nearest space close to the boss. What if the nearest space is occupied by a Minion: do you stomp it, block to the space before the minion or move to the other nearest space? And if that space is occupied by another Mech?

FIRE STORM (Boss card) - do 1 damage to all mechs on the same map tile of the boss. If the boss occupies more than one tile does he damage all the minions on these tiles?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Cantrell
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
22764636 wrote:
When the Boss Mech moves does he leave the 4 spaces he currently occupies or only 2?


He leaves 2 spaces behind.

22764636 wrote:

GET OVER HERE (Boss card) - roll rune die to determine which player moves to the nearest space close to the boss. What if the nearest space is occupied by a Minion: do you stomp it, block to the space before the minion or move to the other nearest space? And if that space is occupied by another Mech?


If it's a minion that is blocking you, you stomp it and add it to the kill tracker. If it's another mech in your way, you try to find another spot adjacent to the target mech that is available. If there's still not an available spot, he gets as close as he can.

22764636 wrote:

FIRE STORM (Boss card) - do 1 damage to all mechs on the same map tile of the boss. If the boss occupies more than one tile does he damage all the minions on these tiles?


Yup. That guy's a jerk.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonas Vanschooren
Belgium
Beringen
Limburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the boss push minions when they ate in the way to do his programming, does he stomp them? Do they count as a kill?

Edit, it was already in the FAQ, he stomps them flat and they count as a kill.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carmine Migliore
United Kingdom
Stoke-on-Trent
Staffordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When Mechs run their command line if they attack with a cyclotron is the Boss health reduce by one if any of his 4 spaces occupy a diagonal? Or does the attacker needs to stay exactly in his diagonal?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
22764636 wrote:
When Mechs run their command line if they attack with a cyclotron is the Boss health reduce by one if any of his 4 spaces occupy a diagonal? Or does the attacker needs to stay exactly in his diagonal?

You can attack the spaces shown, so i would expect any of the spaces targeted to work. You'll only get one damage before the rune shield goes back up, though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jo
Germany
Pyrbaum
Deutschland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Have an question too:

Since Flamespitter is an "area of effect", does it hit the boss mech for more than one damage? Up to four, because his base is 2x2? Or does he just take one damage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonas Vanschooren
Belgium
Beringen
Limburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
floppi wrote:
Have an question too:

Since Flamespitter is an "area of effect", does it hit the boss mech for more than one damage? Up to four, because his base is 2x2? Or does he just take one damage?

You can only damage the boss once cause of the rune restriction, first flame he feels his shields go back up and the rest doesn't damage him. Same for a bounce back from lightning or something like that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
clarence
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What is the text on the GET OVER HERE (Boss card)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jo
Germany
Pyrbaum
Deutschland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Spukky wrote:
floppi wrote:
Have an question too:

Since Flamespitter is an "area of effect", does it hit the boss mech for more than one damage? Up to four, because his base is 2x2? Or does he just take one damage?

You can only damage the boss once cause of the rune restriction, first flame he feels his shields go back up and the rest doesn't damage him. Same for a bounce back from lightning or something like that.


Thought about that, but an "area of effect" could happen at the same time, couldn't it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
floppi wrote:
Thought about that, but an "area of effect" could happen at the same time, couldn't it?

The Rune Shields rules are clear:
MvM Rules wrote:
Once the Boss takes 1 Damage from an element of that
color, turn the shield back on immediately.


If you need thematic reasoning, just like how you resolve damage on mechs one at a time, you can consider resolving damage on the Boss in the same way. The first damage taken puts the shield back up so the other damage has no effect.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jo
Germany
Pyrbaum
Deutschland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frederick Ernst
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Spukky wrote:
floppi wrote:
Have an question too:

Since Flamespitter is an "area of effect", does it hit the boss mech for more than one damage? Up to four, because his base is 2x2? Or does he just take one damage?

You can only damage the boss once cause of the rune restriction, first flame he feels his shields go back up and the rest doesn't damage him. Same for a bounce back from lightning or something like that.


Spukky speaks the Truth.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Rupp
United States
Marion
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Riot Kades wrote:
22764636 wrote:
When the Boss Mech moves does he leave the 4 spaces he currently occupies or only 2?


He leaves 2 spaces behind.

22764636 wrote:

GET OVER HERE (Boss card) - roll rune die to determine which player moves to the nearest space close to the boss. What if the nearest space is occupied by a Minion: do you stomp it, block to the space before the minion or move to the other nearest space? And if that space is occupied by another Mech?


If it's a minion that is blocking you, you stomp it and add it to the kill tracker. If it's another mech in your way, you try to find another spot adjacent to the target mech that is available. If there's still not an available spot, he gets as close as he can.

22764636 wrote:

FIRE STORM (Boss card) - do 1 damage to all mechs on the same map tile of the boss. If the boss occupies more than one tile does he damage all the minions on these tiles?


Yup. That guy's a jerk.


Not quite. Firestorm only affects mechs as it states mechs in the ability text.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
rrrrupp wrote:

Not quite. Firestorm only affects mechs as it states mechs in the ability text.


I think Kades interpreted the second part of that question as "...does he damage all the mechs on those tiles?"

I know I did.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DeS_Tructive wrote:
I think Kades interpreted the second part of that question as "...does he damage all the mechs on those tiles?"

I know I did.

I think pretty much everyone missed it, except Jason of course.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.