Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Potion Explosion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Getting all ingredients first before placing them? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Arek
Germany
Hessen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rules under using ingredients, it states that after you have done your regular pick of an ingredient and optionally got help from the professor and also maybe drank one or more potions, you then use your ingredients. You must fill as many holes in potions as you can, then fill your pool flask. This seems to imply an order, i.e. you get all your ingredients from your turn first and then you can use them. However, in another part of the rules it implies that a player can do their actions at anytime in their turn - so there appears to be a slight contradiction.

In my turn, am I allowed to do the following example in this order?

Drink a potion and use its ability to get ingredients
Put as many of those ingredients as I can onto empty potion holes resulting in completing a potion.
Then drink that newly completed potion and get more ingredients from it.
Use those ingredients on my other potion
Then take my normal regular pick of an ingredient.
Possibly complete a second potion, drink it, get more ingredients
Then choose any 3 ingredients from my hand and/or pool and put them in my pool and discard the rest.

Clearly here I am using some ingredients before I get more - is this OK?


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich A
United Kingdom
London
NW London
flag msg tools
There isnt an order really. The only restriction that I can remember is that any ingredients you place on a potion cannot be removed. You can have as many ingredients held in your hand that you want, and you can freely move balls from your hand to the pool and vice versa. Potions can be drunk at any time in your turn. So you can drink potions and take their actions while you've been moving balls around. The only other fixed rules are that:

1. you can only get new potions at the end of your turn.
2. you therefore cannot have any balls in your hand when getting new potions. Balls cannot be moved from the pool to the new potions you picked.


So in terms of your example, yes you can do those things. The only problem in your example is that you describe completing 3 potions. This isn't possible because you cannot draw a new potion from the pile until the end of your turn.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arek
Germany
Hessen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks - I think you're right, without this flexibility the game would not be as fun because you would be constrained by having to get all your ingredients first. There would be far fewer 'tactical' decisions.

After having re-read the rules, I think I was initially mislead by the use of the word 'First' in the bullet point under the Using the Ingredients section. I think that was to mean that this is simply the first option being described and not that it must be performed first only after having taken ingredients, implying an order to your turn's activities.

In my example, the first potion which was drunk was one completed on an earlier turn, so I think its OK. Thanks for your reply, it is how we have played it, and so far we have found that there is a lot more to this game than you may first think after reading the rules. You can really make some good moves or scupper other people's game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 Lucky Texan
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
maybe I misunderstand but, if I acquire ingredients, and I have open spots in incomplete potions of a matching color, I MUST place marbles in potions before putting any in my pool?

if so, if, during my turn, I complete both of my potions, then, thru a legal means, (little help, drinking a potion, or normal ingredient selection) acquire one or more marbles, I can put them into my pool?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Pra'
Italy
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 Lucky Texan wrote:
maybe I misunderstand but, if I acquire ingredients, and I have open spots in incomplete potions of a matching color, I MUST place marbles in potions before putting any in my pool?
Yes, this is correct.

1 Lucky Texan wrote:
if, during my turn, I complete both of my potions, then, thru a legal means, (little help, drinking a potion, or normal ingredient selection) acquire one or more marbles, I can put them into my pool?
Yes, this is also correct.
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
steven smolders
Belgium
Heist-op-den-Berg
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
badge
Love to play boardgames with my family and spending time toghter
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 Lucky Texan wrote:
maybe I misunderstand but, if I acquire ingredients, and I have open spots in incomplete potions of a matching color, I MUST place marbles in potions before putting any in my pool?

if so, if, during my turn, I complete both of my potions, then, thru a legal means, (little help, drinking a potion, or normal ingredient selection) acquire one or more marbles, I can put them into my pool?



While correct that might not be a smart thing to do. If someone els has a potion that allows them to steal from your pool it helps them
2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich A
United Kingdom
London
NW London
flag msg tools
1 Lucky Texan wrote:
maybe I misunderstand but, if I acquire ingredients, and I have open spots in incomplete potions of a matching color, I MUST place marbles in potions before putting any in my pool?



No that's not my understanding. Once you've picked ingredients you can freely move them between your pool and your hand. There is no order to place ingredients. However, any ingredients placed in your potions cannot be removed. As described earlier in this thread.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Pra'
Italy
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rikboy wrote:
1 Lucky Texan wrote:
maybe I misunderstand but, if I acquire ingredients, and I have open spots in incomplete potions of a matching color, I MUST place marbles in potions before putting any in my pool?



No that's not my understanding. Once you've picked ingredients you can freely move them between your pool and your hand. There is no order to place ingredients. However, any ingredients placed in your potions cannot be removed. As described earlier in this thread.
If you check the rulebook, page 8, it says:

Using Ingredients

After taking Ingredients, either with your regular pick, a Little Help from the professor, or by drinking a Potion (see Drinking Potions, page 9), you will have a number of marbles in hand. To use them, you have the following options:

First, you must place any Ingredients in your hand on the matching empty holes of the same color on any Potion tiles brewing on your Desk, if possible (a yellow marble goes on a yellow hole, etc.). Once an Ingredient has been placed on a Potion tile, it cannot be moved until the Potion is complete.

• If you have Ingredient marbles in hand that you cannot place on any potion tile in your Brewing area, you must place those Ingredients in the small retort flask on your Desk. This is called your Ingredient Pool. During your turn, you may freely move Ingredients between your Pool and your hand.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 Lucky Texan
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Algaroth wrote:
Rikboy wrote:
1 Lucky Texan wrote:
maybe I misunderstand but, if I acquire ingredients, and I have open spots in incomplete potions of a matching color, I MUST place marbles in potions before putting any in my pool?



No that's not my understanding. Once you've picked ingredients you can freely move them between your pool and your hand. There is no order to place ingredients. However, any ingredients placed in your potions cannot be removed. As described earlier in this thread.
If you check the rulebook, page 8, it says:

Using Ingredients

After taking Ingredients, either with your regular pick, a Little Help from the professor, or by drinking a Potion (see Drinking Potions, page 9), you will have a number of marbles in hand. To use them, you have the following options:

First, you must place any Ingredients in your hand on the matching empty holes of the same color on any Potion tiles brewing on your Desk, if possible (a yellow marble goes on a yellow hole, etc.). Once an Ingredient has been placed on a Potion tile, it cannot be moved until the Potion is complete.

• If you have Ingredient marbles in hand that you cannot place on any potion tile in your Brewing area, you must place those Ingredients in the small retort flask on your Desk. This is called your Ingredient Pool. During your turn, you may freely move Ingredients between your Pool and your hand.


along these lines, could I place pool ingrdientd in my hand (empty or otherwise, during my turn, and dump them back to the box and leave my pool empty ot partially empty?

that is, MUST the pool keep itself used/full if possible before ingredients go back to the box?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich A
United Kingdom
London
NW London
flag msg tools
Algaroth wrote:
Rikboy wrote:
1 Lucky Texan wrote:
maybe I misunderstand but, if I acquire ingredients, and I have open spots in incomplete potions of a matching color, I MUST place marbles in potions before putting any in my pool?



No that's not my understanding. Once you've picked ingredients you can freely move them between your pool and your hand. There is no order to place ingredients. However, any ingredients placed in your potions cannot be removed. As described earlier in this thread.
If you check the rulebook, page 8, it says:

Using Ingredients

After taking Ingredients, either with your regular pick, a Little Help from the professor, or by drinking a Potion (see Drinking Potions, page 9), you will have a number of marbles in hand. To use them, you have the following options:

First, you must place any Ingredients in your hand on the matching empty holes of the same color on any Potion tiles brewing on your Desk, if possible (a yellow marble goes on a yellow hole, etc.). Once an Ingredient has been placed on a Potion tile, it cannot be moved until the Potion is complete.

• If you have Ingredient marbles in hand that you cannot place on any potion tile in your Brewing area, you must place those Ingredients in the small retort flask on your Desk. This is called your Ingredient Pool. During your turn, you may freely move Ingredients between your Pool and your hand.


Darn it yes you're right. I haven't played in a while and my older post was probably referring to the context of the original question ie other than the regular pick everything else can be done in any order.

The rules do say you can move ingredients freely between your hand pool during your turn but presumably only after you've placed ingredirlebts from your hand onto potions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich A
United Kingdom
London
NW London
flag msg tools
1 Lucky Texan wrote:
Algaroth wrote:
Rikboy wrote:
1 Lucky Texan wrote:
maybe I misunderstand but, if I acquire ingredients, and I have open spots in incomplete potions of a matching color, I MUST place marbles in potions before putting any in my pool?



No that's not my understanding. Once you've picked ingredients you can freely move them between your pool and your hand. There is no order to place ingredients. However, any ingredients placed in your potions cannot be removed. As described earlier in this thread.
If you check the rulebook, page 8, it says:

Using Ingredients

After taking Ingredients, either with your regular pick, a Little Help from the professor, or by drinking a Potion (see Drinking Potions, page 9), you will have a number of marbles in hand. To use them, you have the following options:

First, you must place any Ingredients in your hand on the matching empty holes of the same color on any Potion tiles brewing on your Desk, if possible (a yellow marble goes on a yellow hole, etc.). Once an Ingredient has been placed on a Potion tile, it cannot be moved until the Potion is complete.

• If you have Ingredient marbles in hand that you cannot place on any potion tile in your Brewing area, you must place those Ingredients in the small retort flask on your Desk. This is called your Ingredient Pool. During your turn, you may freely move Ingredients between your Pool and your hand.


along these lines, could I place pool ingrdientd in my hand (empty or otherwise, during my turn, and dump them back to the box and leave my pool empty ot partially empty?

that is, MUST the pool keep itself used/full if possible before ingredients go back to the box?


Well i perdonally wpuld have said That sounds fine to me. The rules do say you can freely move ingredients between your hand and the pool. But it isnt clear if youre allowed to just dump ingredients. Maybe i play the game more flexibly than youre supposed to.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Pra'
Italy
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 Lucky Texan wrote:
along these lines, could I place pool ingrdientd in my hand (empty or otherwise, during my turn, and dump them back to the box and leave my pool empty ot partially empty?

that is, MUST the pool keep itself used/full if possible before ingredients go back to the box?


From the rulebook, page 9, End of turn:
Quote:
After you have taken your regular pick for the turn, you asked for the little Help from the professor if you wanted to, and you have drunk all the Potions you intended to, your turn ends; follow these steps, in order:

• If you still have marbles in your hand and your Ingredient Pool is already full, you must discard them back into the tank of the Dispenser.


So yes, it was kinda implied and we probably should make it more clear, but if you have marbles in hand that you can place in the pool, you have to. No one would ever be able to use the Elixir of Blind Love, if you could just get rid of marbles and leave your pool empty.
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.