$35.00
Recommend
10 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Risk Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: The finer points of the rules that are not easily visible rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pepe Carrillo
United States
Tuscola
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Kept forgetting some of the finer points, so here they are:

All card actions may be done in part OR not at all - chosen cards must still be discarded

A. Expand
- May move into unclaimed territories
- May move into enemy territories - you become the Attacker
- Must have a siege engine if enemy territories contain castles
- Defender may leave disputed territories - subject to fly-paper rule
- A third army may not expand into disputed territories
- May not expand into disputed territories, or territories you control
- Must always leave at least one unit in territories you expand from

B. Maneuver
- May move units between territories you control - max of two territories
- Territories must be connected by supply lines (borders/sea lanes)
- Must stop upon entering disputed territories
- Cannot maneuver out of disputed territories
- Cannot drop off or pick up units
- Must leave at least one unit behind when leaving a castle or city territory, otherwise ALL units can move

C. Tax
- Select ONE city to tax and include the tax value of any territories that are connected to it by supply lines (non-city territories are worth one coin)
- Supply lines cannot be traced through disputed territories

D. Bonus card actions (may be done before or after the regular card action)
- Fortify: add units to ONE controlled city/castle; alternatively, this may be done by the defender of a disputed city/castle territory
- King Me: takes effect at the beginning of the next round
- Siege Assault: select ONE territory containing one or more siege engines to fire into an adjacent enemy territory
-- enemy cannot return fire
-- cannot fire across sea lanes
-- cannot fire into or out of disputed territories
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pepe Carrillo
United States
Tuscola
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've tried uploading this player aid to the files section but my IPad isn't being helpful... and I'm hundreds of miles from my PC - apologies!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomas Inguanzo
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So B. is like that rule in classic Risk that everybody did wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Espinoza
msg tools
what's fly paper rule?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomas Inguanzo
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
rotatorkuf wrote:
what's fly paper rule?


A certain number of the Defender's units are pinned down by the Attacker's units and therefore can't leave.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pepe Carrillo
United States
Tuscola
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
msgt pepe wrote:
I've tried uploading this player aid to the files section but my IPad isn't being helpful... and I'm hundreds of miles from my PC - apologies!


I'm back home... FINALLY GOT THIS PLAYER AID AND OPTIONAL RULES LOADED!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clayton Webber
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
One note on the defender using an Expand order to leave a Disputed territory, since by RAW the defender must be using expand, those units leaving need to either expand into an unclaimed territory or expand into an enemy territory. You cannot Manuever out of a disputed territory.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D Conklin
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
These bit us in our first game, I think mostly because we were coming from traditional Risk:

"You may never purchase more army units than you have physically available in your army reserve."

Maxing out footman thinking you can "trade them in" like in regular Risk doesn't work.

"Control seven or more crowns at the end of a round to win the game."

One player made a risky gambit to get 7 crowns after playing 21 of his cards thinking the win would be instantaneous. After everyone played their 3rd2nd card, he wasn't doing quite so well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dc0nklin wrote:
"Control seven or more crowns at the end of a round to win the game."

One player made a risky gambit to get 7 crowns after playing 2 of his cards thinking the win would be instantaneous. After everyone played their 3rd card, he wasn't doing quite so well.


Hmmm... you only play two cards per round.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D Conklin
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
MercifulBiscuit wrote:
dc0nklin wrote:
"Control seven or more crowns at the end of a round to win the game."

One player made a risky gambit to get 7 crowns after playing 2 of his cards thinking the win would be instantaneous. After everyone played their 3rd card, he wasn't doing quite so well.


Hmmm... you only play two cards per round.


Yeah, not sure why I wrote that. Fixed. Doh.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate Davis
United States
Santa Rosa
California
flag msg tools
Question regarding Taxing:

If you tax one city and others are attached via supply chain do you count the others in with the tax amount?

additionally if you have London/Paris connected and attached via supply chain, do you get both tax benefits or just one?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You get both benefits. I think this is addressed in the rules, although I can't be sure as there's no downloadable version... If it is addressed, it might be in a non-obvious place.

... and yes, you get all amounts.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric C

New York
msg tools
I don't agree because the instructions under maneuver state that you can relocate any number of army units from one territory you control to one other territory already under your control or in dispute
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.