Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Order of the Gilded Compass» Forums » Rules

Subject: Secret missions questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vitaliy Voloshchuk
Ukraine
Kiev
flag msg tools
mb
Unite the Specialists
In description: 1 + 1 per set of specialists
However, on the picture: 1 + 1 per Exc or Cart
And as for me, more logically would be:
1 + 2 per set, because otherwise it becomes much weaker than "Gather the Excavators" or "Recruit Specialists"

Can anybody clarify?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ori Avtalion
Israel
flag msg tools
Avatar
You're right, the graphic is very disconnected from the description!
I Haven't noticed that before.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Lobkowicz
United States
High Ridge
Missouri
flag msg tools
publisher
You could be playing.
badge
Which came first, the phoenix or the flame?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Looking back I see that graphic is unclear. It should say "and" and not "or" or perhaps be more similar to the "Hire the Right Hunters" graphic.

Your understanding of the tile appears to be correct however.
It is worth 1 Gold and then 1 additional gold for each map that has both a Cartographer & an Excavator assigned to it.

As for the relative strength, the timing of acquiring your mission tile will affect that immensely. For an early draw, I would probably take Gather/Congregate as then I would focus on only getting 1 type of specialist (unless I was playing with the Hidden Temple also) but late in the game, if I have filled several maps this would likely have a better payout for me.

There is no doubt that the usefulness of the mission tiles varies, inherently, and situationally.

Enjoy the game!

-Josh
Grey Fox Games

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vitaliy Voloshchuk
Ukraine
Kiev
flag msg tools
mb
I must disagree with your statement about relatively strength.
Recruit Specialists gives 1 gold per any 2 specialists, which is apparently better than 1 gold for exact pair.
The same with Congregate Excavators, it gives 1 gold per specialist, instead 1 for pair. And if at some pont I will have several full pairs, it still will be better to take another Congregate or Recruit, because
1. Recruit does not require exact pairs, but gives the same profit.
2. Congregate gives 1 for each other specialist, so generates also the same profit, and also without demand of exact pair.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.