Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Dreary Hamlet» Forums » Rules

Subject: spell timing questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fnorbl Fnorblobson
Germany
Cologne
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi.

We played the game yesterday for the first time, and the group really liked it (and was impressed by the quality of the components, the art and that interesting mechanic with the glass bead for the ammo acting like a tiny magnifying glass of sorts).

Some things we were unsure of though: The rulebook says that, unless a spell card states otherwise, you can play a spell card whenever you want to. Some situations we hoped to play right:

1) A person defeats a monster, and loots a "tame" spell. Can that spell be used on the monster you looted it from? The card states that you play it after defeating a monster, but flavorwise it seems odd to defeat something, loot it, and then tame it.

2) A player with 1 life left attacks a pixie, and fails to hit it. Before the pixie can retaliate that player plays a flee card to run away. Then that player attacks that pixie again. Before he rolls the dice to attack the pixie, another player charms a djinn into attacking the player. Before the djinn rolls for attack, the attacked player charms a monster into attacking the person who made the djinn attack, increased the djinns dice roll and destroys one of that players cards.

3) Somewhat similar: a player crafts a pendant. That player wants to use an action to sell the pendant and maybe other cards, but before he announces that, another player quickly plays a "destroy a random card from a players hand" attempting to destroy the pendant.

Does that work?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Boctor
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Orya wrote:
Hi.

We played the game yesterday for the first time, and the group really liked it (and was impressed by the quality of the components, the art and that interesting mechanic with the glass bead for the ammo acting like a tiny magnifying glass of sorts).

Some things we were unsure of though: The rulebook says that, unless a spell card states otherwise, you can play a spell card whenever you want to.

Hi Orya!

Sorry for the slow reply, saw this the other day and meant to answer then, but didn't because of the rising of machines against mankind. You probably heard about it, it was in the news.

Magic: The Gathering fan at all? I'm gonna make a quick assumption here and say that you're likely at least familiar with it (if I'm wrong then please disregard). I bring it up because it'll save time by saying that "The Stack", and the feature of cards resolving in reverse order that they're played are mechanics that are specific to MTG.

While you may play cards at any time, actions still resolve in the order that they were announced. It might be clearer to explain by talking about the specific examples you've brought up.

Orya wrote:
Some situations we hoped to play right:

1) A person defeats a monster, and loots a "tame" spell. Can that spell be used on the monster you looted it from? The card states that you play it after defeating a monster, but flavorwise it seems odd to defeat something, loot it, and then tame it.

You are completely correct in that "Tame" would need to be in the player's hand at the time of the monster battle. As I understand it, this has been confirmed by the creator himself somewhere, though that could be hearsay.

Really it could do with some form of errata stating that it needs to be played before obtaining loot cards, it would clear up a lot of confusion.

Orya wrote:
2) A player with 1 life left attacks a pixie, and fails to hit it. Before the pixie can retaliate that player plays a flee card to run away. Then that player attacks that pixie again. Before he rolls the dice to attack the pixie, another player charms a djinn into attacking the player. Before the djinn rolls for attack, the attacked player charms a monster into attacking the person who made the djinn attack, increased the djinns dice roll and destroys one of that players cards.

So from your example (I'm going to call the players Pixie Attacker (PA) & Djinn Charmer (DC) (absolutely not intended as euphemisms)), actions would take place in the following order:

- PA successfully flees the Pixie (no brainer).
- PA then attacks the Pixie as they intended.
- If PA successfully defeats the Pixie, they will then be attacked by the charmed Djinn. Any cards looted in the battle against the Pixie may be used in the battle against the Djinn.
- If PA also survives the Djinn attack, DC will then be attacked by a charmed monster.

Things get a little fuzzy after this; I assume you're saying that DC decided to up the Djinn's dice for its already announced attack against PA, and DC ALSO destroyed one of PA's cards, correct? If that's the case, then the last two events are modified as follows:

- If PA successfully defeats the Pixie, they will then be attacked by the charmed Djinn, who in turn receives a boosted dice pool.
- If PA also survived the boosted Djinn attack, DC will then be attacked by a charmed monster. After the initiation of this battle, PA will have one of their remaining cards destroyed, if they even have any left at this point.

Orya wrote:
3) Somewhat similar: a player crafts a pendant. That player wants to use an action to sell the pendant and maybe other cards, but before he announces that, another player quickly plays a "destroy a random card from a players hand" attempting to destroy the pendant.

Does that work?

Thanks.

It sounds like, in this case, player two has announced their intent to play their card after the pendant has been crafted but before player one has announced their action of selling it. If that's the case, it plays out exactly as you've said and player one's pendant may be destroyed.

I hope that helped.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.