Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules Question: Adding Ships to a Fleet rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marshal S
msg tools
I need some clarification on how to add ships to a fleet that has already been commissioned. If you have a fleet in a system then build ships in that system, can they become part of the preexisting fleet without spending a command token? The rulebook explains that ships can join a fleet for free after completing a move (i.e. into the system where the fleet is), but it doesn't specify if you can add new ships to the fleet without spending a command.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Godwin
msg tools
mbmb
If you build ships in a system or more ships into a systems with a fleet, you can add them for free. You can also add ships to a fleet if the fleet stops its movement on a space with ships.

If the ships or fleet are entering a hazard system, you do need to resolve that first.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James J

Texas
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, best to ignore the "after completing a move" phrasing in the book since that is unclear. GF9 clarified that you can basically add or remove ships at pretty much any time unless you are in the process of moving (impulse or warp). The goal is to keep people from using a single command to either scoop up ships into a fleet as it passes by or seeding various sectors with ships from a fleet as it moves through. As long as the fleet is motionless, it can add or remove ships in the same sector for free.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.