Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Round House» Forums » Rules

Subject: gold considered as basic resource? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lieven De Puysseleir
Belgium
Leuven
flag msg tools
trust me, I'm a dentist
badge
we don't lie, we use statistics
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is gold considered as a basic resource?

If someone were to sell something to the market and use gold for that and another can take a basic resource from anywhere on the board, can the latter take the gold resource cube?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Allan
United Kingdom
Ashtead
Surrey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played this as 'yes'. That if the gold is on the board, and an action allows you to take a cube from the board, then this would be allowed.

If not, this would seem inconsistent with the mechanism.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lieven De Puysseleir
Belgium
Leuven
flag msg tools
trust me, I'm a dentist
badge
we don't lie, we use statistics
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
we played no and found that the resources became even more scarce.

at the end however, out points seemed to indicate nothing wrong with how we played it.

but we'd play as yes next time to make it just that little bit more dynamic.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
emperors4 games
Taiwan
flag msg tools
EmperorS4
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gold is a resource, but not a basic resource.
When you take resources from the warehouse, you can choose the gold that put on ANY Market.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerome Wasterlain
msg tools
Hi,
We are playing right now and we don't understand if we can use gold to complete orders or if the combination must be the exact copy of the cards ?
Thx for he answer

Jerome
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lieven De Puysseleir
Belgium
Leuven
flag msg tools
trust me, I'm a dentist
badge
we don't lie, we use statistics
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
epave de pwasson wrote:
Hi,
We are playing right now and we don't understand if we can use gold to complete orders or if the combination must be the exact copy of the cards ?
Thx for he answer

Jerome


gold is the wildcard so you can use it to replace whatever resource in whatever situation.
if the requirement is gold then ofcourse there's no other substitute.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerome Wasterlain
msg tools
lievendp wrote:
epave de pwasson wrote:
Hi,
We are playing right now and we don't understand if we can use gold to complete orders or if the combination must be the exact copy of the cards ?
Thx for he answer

Jerome


gold is the wildcard so you can use it to replace whatever resource in whatever situation.
if the requirement is gold then ofcourse there's no other substitute.


Thanks for the answer lievendp.
We play it more difficult though...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris Ardianto
Indonesia
DKI Jakarta - Jakarta Utara
flag msg tools
badge
https://www.facebook.com/gopopnow
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lievendp wrote:
epave de pwasson wrote:
Hi,
We are playing right now and we don't understand if we can use gold to complete orders or if the combination must be the exact copy of the cards ?
Thx for he answer

Jerome


gold is the wildcard so you can use it to replace whatever resource in whatever situation.
if the requirement is gold then ofcourse there's no other substitute.


Case:
if gold can be used as any basic resource, when filling up the space in a room, with a basic resource, do you place the gold in that space or replace it with a resource cube of your choosing?
This affects the placement or requirement in the resource space.
For example in a room where you need to place the same kind or different kind of resource. If a gold is used to fill space with the same kind, so what resource should be placed next?

We play that when using gold in the board, replace it with a selected resource. It's easier that way and to avoid confusion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.