$60.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Conan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions/clarifications on Heroes book rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
anthony dybacz
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can anyone help to clarify these rules?
Do they need to be address in an FAQ or has Monolith commented on any of them (that I have missed) or are they just translation issues?

Thanks

Hero Book, p.6
Quote:
If this line crosses an obstacle shown on the board (a wall, a door, a mast, etc.)

Need to clarify what counts as an obstacle for Line of Sight, the boards are extremely varied (LOS diagrams would help).
Also, there are many 'fringe' instances where the line technically is blocked by a small sticking out bit of wall art (especially in Pict village) and it would be nice to know the designer's intentions.

Hero Book, p.14
Need to clarify if the use of a skill is an action, for purposes of cautious stance.
Example: can allies be commanded when on cautious stance?

Hero Book, p.18
Need to clarify how the explosive orb item is used (does it count as a throw complex manipulation, so you need successes equal to range? Does it count as a ranged attack?)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andi Anonymous
Germany
flag msg tools
You can only guard/reroll in cautions stance. Nothing else.
Explosive Orb is a complex manipulation like a weapon throw,
except it explodes afterwards in the area with 2 red dice.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
CardboardAnt wrote:

Hero Book, p.6
Quote:
If this line crosses an obstacle shown on the board (a wall, a door, a mast, etc.)

Need to clarify what counts as an obstacle for Line of Sight, the boards are extremely varied (LOS diagrams would help).
Also, there are many 'fringe' instances where the line technically is blocked by a small sticking out bit of wall art (especially in Pict village) and it would be nice to know the designer's intentions.


There is unfortunately no official ruling on these yet, except for the "mast" spaces on the ship map: see threads 1654337 and 1656499 for details.

Until/unless there is a ruling from Monolith on some of the weird cases (the Pict Village is full of them, and the weird "tilted" perspective of the walls doesn't help), players will just have to decide among themselves.


CardboardAnt wrote:
Hero Book, p.14
Need to clarify if the use of a skill is an action, for purposes of cautious stance.
Example: can allies be commanded when on cautious stance?


No: only dodging and rerolling, like the rules say.

Quote:
Hero Book, p.18
Need to clarify how the explosive orb item is used (does it count as a throw complex manipulation, so you need successes equal to range? Does it count as a ranged attack?)


See thread 1653572 for detailed coverage of that item.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
anthony dybacz
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, it says the only ACTIONS allowed is Guard and Reroll. Does that mean skill use is an action? This surely cannot apply to all skills?
Sacrifice
Bodyguard
Attack from Beyond
Counterattack
Support
to name the obvious ones?

Not all of these require gem use, but Bodyguard does. Is gem use the determining factor?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
CardboardAnt wrote:
Actually, it says the only ACTIONS allowed is Guard and Reroll. Does that mean skill use is an action?


AFAIK, "action" is not a keyword, and is therefor used in its generic sense. Monolith employees have confirmed in other threads that you can do nothing more than dodge or reroll. No spells. No Leadership. No twitter.

Quote:
This surely cannot apply to all skills?
Sacrifice
Bodyguard
Attack from Beyond
Counterattack
Support
to name the obvious ones?

Not all of these require gem use, but Bodyguard does. Is gem use the determining factor?


Bodyguard is, if i'm not sorely mistaken, never a hero's ability, and non-heroes don't have active/passive status, so that one's irrelevant.

The rest are passive skills which do not require activation. Attack from Beyond, in particular, means that you are dead, neither active nor passive.

Counterattack - good question. i assume that Counterattack is legal, because it is a passive/reactive skill, but i may be wrong.

Edit: i added this question to the related thread 1656952.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
anthony dybacz
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Bodyguard is on several heroes.

And Support not usuable on Cautious stance seems weird, as it is the very definition of a passive skill (as are skills like untouchable...)

Personally, the way I play is that ALL skills are usable in cautious stance and what bars their use is if you need to use melee, ranged, move or manipulation for them.

This all needs clarifying

Thanks for asking in the other thread.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank BLACKFIRE
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
CardboardAnt wrote:
Actually, it says the only ACTIONS allowed is Guard and Reroll. Does that mean skill use is an action? This surely cannot apply to all skills?
Sacrifice
Bodyguard
Attack from Beyond
Counterattack
Support
to name the obvious ones?

Not all of these require gem use, but Bodyguard does. Is gem use the determining factor?

"Sacrifice" is a passive skill (no guard or parry allowed) so you can sacrifice at any time.

"Bodyguard"...even if you're in cautious stance you can use it as it is a defense action. Rules stated you can only make defense actions and re-roll actions when cautious..but it's not written you can only defend yourself. So you can "guard" for you or another character.

"Attack from beyond" is not an action as you're dead...you just throw the 3 red dice an that's it.

"Counterattack" is a passive skill. It works every time.

"Support" same as counterattack always works, cautious or not.
3 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ville Pynnönen
msg tools
Regarding the LOS:

The rules state that the players should use their best judgement when defining LOS in unclear situations.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pallantides wrote:
CardboardAnt wrote:
Actually, it says the only ACTIONS allowed is Guard and Reroll. Does that mean skill use is an action? This surely cannot apply to all skills?
Sacrifice
Bodyguard
Attack from Beyond
Counterattack
Support
to name the obvious ones?

Not all of these require gem use, but Bodyguard does. Is gem use the determining factor?

"Sacrifice" is a passive skill (no guard or parry allowed) so you can sacrifice at any time.

"Bodyguard"...even if you're in cautious stance you can use it as it is a defense action. Rules stated you can only make defense actions and re-roll actions when cautious..but it's not written you can only defend yourself. So you can "guard" for you or another character.

"Attack from beyond" is not an action as you're dead...you just throw the 3 red dice an that's it.

"Counterattack" is a passive skill. It works every time.

"Support" same as counterattack always works, cautious or not.


Follow-up: BadKam, from Monolith, confirms this in thread 1659148:

BadKam wrote:
Pallantides is totally right on all points
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.