Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mechs vs. Minions» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is Range affected by obstacles? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One query in another thread made me think a bit more about cards that refer to Range. Given that the description of Range includes saying you count points of movement (but including diagonals), does that mean that obstacles such as Massive Boulders will change the Range between spaces or not?

In other words, in this image:



if the mech on the repair pad blows up a Level 3 Fuel Tank to avoid damage, it's clear the spaces with yellow numbers will be hit. Will the green numbered spaces be hit too? Are they at 3 Range like they would be if the Massive Boulders were not there, or do we have to take into account the boulders and hence they are further away?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Cantrell
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
One query in another thread made me think a bit more about cards that refer to Range. Given that the description of Range includes saying you count points of movement (but including diagonals), does that mean that obstacles such as Massive Boulders will change the Range between spaces or not?

In other words, in this image:



if the mech on the repair pad blows up a Level 3 Fuel Tank to avoid damage, it's clear the spaces with yellow numbers will be hit. Will the green numbered spaces be hit too? Are they at 3 Range like they would be if the Massive Boulders were not there, or do we have to take into account the boulders and hence they are further away?


It is range 3 as if the boulder were not there. The Boulder will block ripsaws, but doesn't adjust range elsewhere.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonas Vanschooren
Belgium
Beringen
Limburg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So only the outer edges of tiles block these big area effects?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spukky wrote:
So only the outer edges of tiles block these big area effects?

The Lava Wall should probably block them too, but there shouldn't be anything of note past the Lava Wall anyway...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frederick Ernst
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
One query in another thread made me think a bit more about cards that refer to Range. Given that the description of Range includes saying you count points of movement (but including diagonals), does that mean that obstacles such as Massive Boulders will change the Range between spaces or not?

In other words, in this image:



if the mech on the repair pad blows up a Level 3 Fuel Tank to avoid damage, it's clear the spaces with yellow numbers will be hit. Will the green numbered spaces be hit too? Are they at 3 Range like they would be if the Massive Boulders were not there, or do we have to take into account the boulders and hence they are further away?


Fuel Tank 3 means EVERYTHING ASPLODE! Worth noting, too, that a level 3 flamespitter would shoot through those walls, as would a level 3 aimbot or cyclotron. (WALLHACK SPLOITS REPORTED)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MrPiddlesworth wrote:
Fuel Tank 3 means EVERYTHING ASPLODE! Worth noting, too, that a level 3 flamespitter would shoot through those walls, as would a level 3 aimbot or cyclotron. (WALLHACK SPLOITS REPORTED)

If Chris had answered differently, those would have been my follow-up questions, heh.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.