Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Mechs vs. Minions» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Stepping" defintion vs "moving through" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Kuch
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Scenario: My minion moves forward 2 spaces, first through a repair pad and then one space further. The next command is a stuck control to move backwards, so I end my turn on the repair pad - YAY! I get to repair one damage. Or two? Landing on the pad obviously heals a damage, but does moving through the pad heal a damage?

Scenario 3 - same situation for stepping on rune spots - does a mech have to end a command on a rune spot to activate it? Or does just moving over it via a move of 3 or 4 or whatever?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Artrean wrote:
Scenario: My minion moves forward 2 spaces, first through a repair pad and then one space further. The next command is a stuck control to move backwards, so I end my turn on the repair pad - YAY! I get to repair one damage. Or two? Landing on the pad obviously heals a damage, but does moving through the pad heal a damage?

Repair pads trigger immediately when you step onto them. Thus, you don't have to stop on them. You would repair the Damage upon stepping on it the first time. Note that if you repaired the card that would make you go backwards, you won't end up going backwards as it has not triggered yet.

Quote:
Scenario 3 - same situation for stepping on rune spots - does a mech have to end a command on a rune spot to activate it? Or does just moving over it via a move of 3 or 4 or whatever?

Rune spaces work the same way when they are triggering something.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Cantrell
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jorgen is 100% correct. Again.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MyBGG Name
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've a similar question with pushing the bomb onto the repair pad. In mission 1, e.g., where the victory condition is getting the bomb to the repair pad, when can we declare victory?

As soon the bomb touches the repair pad? That is, it's okay if it's pushed further still by the currently-resolving move card? From the rest of the thread I assume this is the answer.

As soon as it rests on the repair pad? If I have two move cards on my command line and the first one pushes the bomb onto the pad, can we declare victory, or do we have to resolve my entire command line first?

If it's resting at the end of a player's command line? If I end my turn with it on the pad, but the next player would push it off, does that matter?

At the end of the round? I think this is least likely, so I won't subdivide "end of players phase" and "end of minions phase" and all the issues that'd arise if minion attacks would move/destroy the bomb.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mybggname wrote:
I've a similar question with pushing the bomb onto the repair pad. In mission 1, e.g., where the victory condition is getting the bomb to the repair pad, when can we declare victory?

As soon the bomb touches the repair pad? That is, it's okay if it's pushed further still by the currently-resolving move card? From the rest of the thread I assume this is the answer.


Correct.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree, but keep in mind that if there is a Minion on the repair pad and the Bomb is at 1HP, it will blow up before it gets onto the pad.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco van Barneveld
Netherlands
EDE GLD
Gelderland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
I agree, but keep in mind that if there is a Minion on the repair pad and the Bomb is at 1HP, it will blow up before it gets onto the pad.

This is debatable atm.

You'll find contradicting answers By Chris and Rick here: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/24582562#24582562

I haven't found any definitive answer, though Rick's answer seems more thematic/logic to me.
But atm; you can choose what feels right for you.

Have fun.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.