Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Gobblet Gobblers» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tie or loss? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christian Lemay
Canada
Montréal
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you move one of your pieces somewhere that gives you 3 in a row but that also create a 3 in a row for your opponent at the same time (because you freed one of its pieces...), what happens?

You win, loose or banana?

Thanks,

Comet
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dallas Tucker
Indonesia
Jakarta
flag msg tools
designer
(This space intentionally left blank.)
badge
What is the good life?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We play it as a tie, but I don't think there is anything in the rules about it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Lemay
Canada
Montréal
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whoshim wrote:
We play it as a tie, but I don't think there is anything in the rules about it.

No, nothing about it in the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sangwon An
msg tools
You lose.


The 3x3 game is a generalization of tic-tac-toe:

The object of the game is to get three in a row of your color, vertically, horizontally, or diagonally. Size doesn’t matter for determining a winner.

Each player (red or yellow) starts with 6 pieces: two large, two medium, and two small.

On each turn, a player can either place a new piece on the board, or move a piece already on the board—from anywhere to anywhere, as long as the “from” and “to” are different.

A piece can be placed (or moved to) an empty space, or it can be placed/moved on top of a smaller piece already on the board, “gobbling” the smaller piece. The smaller piece does not have to be an opponent’s piece, and the smaller piece may itself have gobbled another piece previously.

Only visible pieces can be moved, and only visible pieces count toward winning. Gobbled pieces stay on the board, however, and when a piece is moved, any piece that it gobbled stays put and becomes visible.

If moving a piece exposes a winning sequence for the opponent, and if the destination for the move does not cover up one of the other pieces in the sequence, then the opponent wins—even if the move makes a winning sequence for the moving player.


Technically, if a player touches a piece, then the piece must be moved on that turn. In other words, you’re not allowed to peek under a piece to remind yourself whether it gobbled anything. If the piece can’t be moved, the player forfeits. This particular rule is not enforced by our version — in part because our version supports a rewind button, which is also not in the official game.

Quoted from https://docs.racket-lang.org/games/gobblet.html
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.