Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Martians: A Story of Civilization» Forums » Rules

Subject: Solo Clarifications rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Claudio Coppini
Germany
Frankfurt am Main
Hessen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all!

There are a couple of things I'd like to clarify about the solo mode to make sure I'm playing it correctly.

- From what the rulebook says, I understand that even though solo works exactly as the 2 players coop, there are some exceptions, like having only 1 corporation card. Does that mean for example that I can have only two energy installations? Are the two corporations that I control considered as two different players in regard to any instance in the rulebook that refers to player numbers (for example, am I able to get 1 energy from RTG twice in a round or only once)?

- Not strictly solo related but: is it possible to hire a third researcher/assistant by replacing one of the two that have been previously placed on the corporation card? If yes, does the old researcher/assistant go back to the stack on the board or do you remove it from the game?

- In the rulebook this is mentioned only for the semi coop, but isn't it ok in the solo as well to end the game earlier if I manage to remove all tokens from quarters and fulfill the scenario requirements before the last cycle ends?

Thank you in advance.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ole Heide
Germany
Darmstadt
Hessen
flag msg tools
mbmb
I have similar questions like Claudio Coppini about the Solo mode.


- how many Energy instzallations? The biggest problem is the energy if you could only build 2 energy installations.

- how much money? in the rules is written that the first player gets 2 credits, the second 3 etc. did you get 2, 4 or 5 credits in the solo mode?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Teik Chooi Oh
United Kingdom
Chorley
Lancashire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not tried Solo, but this is answered by designer in another section, stating that each of 2 player markers you control can have 2 Energy plants ie total of 4. Go find that, I read every rules thread available.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Claudio Coppini
Germany
Frankfurt am Main
Hessen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chooi wrote:
Not tried Solo, but this is answered by designer in another section, stating that each of 2 player markers you control can have 2 Energy plants ie total of 4. Go find that, I read every rules thread available.


You mean each of the corporation you control can have 2 energy installations, for a total of 4 in solo. Correct, the designer confirmed that in a separate thread.

Quote:
- how much money? in the rules is written that the first player gets 2 credits, the second 3 etc. did you get 2, 4 or 5 credits in the solo mode?


I've been playing solo starting with 2 credits only, as I believe the starting money refers to "players" and not "corporations". Maybe I'm wrong, but at least that makes the game a little more difficult.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.