$20.00
$60.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Conan» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Before the dice are rolled" and "before number of attack dice are determined" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Sacrifice skills says:

Quote:
When a friendly character in this character's area is attacked, before the dice are rolled, this character may choose to be attacked instead. This character cannot Guard for that defense.


Does "before the dice are rolled" imply "before the number of attack dice are chosen" or not?

i.e. does the attacker have to declare the number of dice before a character with Sacrifice decides to use it, or must the attacker simply declare his intent to attack before the Sacrificer has to decide?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loig Roumois
Switzerland
Baden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
good point... who knows?
I'd assume after the attack has been declared, but before the (number of) dice are chosen and possibly reinforced (through gems)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
anthony dybacz
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Conan Hero Book, p.5 wrote:

To perform the Melee Attack action, the hero chooses one enemy in their area...to attack and assigns one or more gems from their Reserve zone to their Melee Attack space. The hero may choose one of their equipment cards that has a Melee Attack bonus to attack with. (At this point choose to Sacrifice or not) Then, for each gem assigned, the hero rolls one die of the type indicated...


This is my reading and fulfils the 'before the dice are rolled' part of the skill.
The ranged attack is similarly worded (in English).

Is the skill worded differently in French?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank BLACKFIRE
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

It means you have to declare "the sacrifice" before knowing the result of the dice (so you already know how much dice have to be thrown).

This information about "the rolled dice" does not exist in the french rulebook : "le personnage peut subir une attaque à la place de la cible initiale. Il ne peut, par contre, ni la parer, ni l'esquiver".
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.