$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

North American Railways» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you pass before buying a city card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Yani
Switzerland
Zürich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you pass before buying a city card, or do you need to buy at least one?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikko Saari
Finland
flag msg tools
http://www.lautapeliopas.fi/ - the best Finnish board game resource!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
A good question. The rules are not perfectly clear on this, but they do say "This phase ends when no player can or wants to acquire a city for a company", and that "wants to" sounds like buying cities is not mandatory.

On the other hand, "When it is a player's turn, he chooses a company for which he has at least one share and selects one of the cities in the bottom column (just like with shares.)" sounds like you don't have a choice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peer Sylvester
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
You dont have to buy city cards.
7 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Ben
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Of course I've been up all night! Not because of caffeine, it was insomnia. I couldn't stop thinking about coffee.
mbmbmbmbmb
If you pass are you out for the remainder of the round, or do you have the option to continue if it comes back around to you?

The rules are not explicit, though they use the language "...pass and leave this phase" which sounds like you're out for the remainder.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peer Sylvester
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
JonBen wrote:
If you pass are you out for the remainder of the round, or do you have the option to continue if it comes back around to you?

The rules are not explicit, though they use the language "...pass and leave this phase" which sounds like you're out for the remainder.


If you dont buy any city cards, youre out.
3 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gianluca Lari
Italy
Rimini
(RN)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In Phase 1 you can pass instead of buying a stock too?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian K
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No you cannot pass for the stocks
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.