$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game – The Stone of Erech» Forums » Rules

Subject: Relic from the dark years rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Fling
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I pulled this card from the Encounter deck due to a surge card. I don't understand what to do with it. Where does it go immediately after it's revealed? Does a hero get it? Or does it go underneath an encounter card and then I can claim it after the encounter leaves play?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Munn

Unspecified
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For anyone else who finds this thread, the Relic from the Dark Years card is an Objective card, whose text reads:

Quote:
Item. Artifact.
Midnight. Action: Claim this objective and attach it to a hero you control. Counts as an Artifact attachment with the text: "When attached hero attacks an Oathbreaker, that enemy loses the Spectral keyword until the end of the phase."

The keyword "Midnight" refers to the time progression mechanic in Stone of Erech: you start at Eventide, then four rounds later (assuming no card effects speed things up or slow things down) it becomes Dusk, then another four rounds later it becomes Midnight. Many of the Undead and Spectral enemies have effects like "Dusk. This enemy gains +1 attack and +1 defense. Midnight. This enemy gains +2 attack and +2 defense." The "Dusk" text is only active during Dusk, and the "Midnight" text is only active during Midnight -- so during midnight, that enemy doesn't get a total of +3 attack and defense, just +2.

Now to answer Joe Fling's question. This is an Objective card, so it goes into the staging area when revealed. Most Objective cards have the keyword Guarded, which means that you immediately reveal a second card and attach it to the Objective as the thing "guarding" that Objective; if the guarding card is an enemy, you must defeat it before you can claim the Objective, and if the guarding card is a location, you must explore that location before you can find and claim that Objective. However, Relic from the Dark Years does not have the Guarded keyword, so it goes into the staging area right away, and does not surge. Congratulations, you're drawing one less bad card this turn, because one of your staging cards turned out to be helpful. You can only claim this objective once the game turns to Midnight -- so in one sense, it's "guarded" by the time mechanic. You really want to defeat this quest before midnight, as the enemies only get stronger as night goes on. But if you take too long and Midnight hits, but you've found this relic, you'll still have a fighting chance.

In short:

1. You put this card into the staging area.
2. You don't attach anything else to it. It just sits in the staging area until you claim it.
3. Once the quest time is Midnight, you can claim this card as an action. You don't have to exhaust a hero, you just have to have an action window.

Oh, and it does count as fulfilling the surge effect. So if your previous card surged into revealing Relic from the Dark Years, congratulations: you don't have to draw another card for the surge.
 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Fling
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Great answer!!!! Thank you very much!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.