$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Zimby Mojo» Forums » Rules

Subject: The Stack and Dying rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin Knauseder
Austria
Lochen
flag msg tools
Can a creature die during stack resolvement? For example a creature suffers wounds equal or higher to its vitality rating before a scroll preventing a wound is resolved from the stack... Does the creature die and the wound preventing scroll is discarded without any effect or are wounds generally assigend at the end of stack resolvemnt?
Additional question: Can the Zimby that had died during stack resolvement still cast witcheries etc. (no channeling zimby available?!)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Felli
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
The stack resolves at the players' discretion depending on when and if they add to it. Here are a few things to remember:

1. Since combat rolls go on the stack, players may put spell effects on top of the stack after combat rolls are made that will resolve before the combat rolls are compared to determine wounds. This enables players to use witcheries (like Brutal Cudgels) to modify a combatant's brutality to change its combat roll before wounds are determined. [This is why witcheries that affect brutality are considered the same source of wounds as a combat exchange.]

2. Since wounds go on the stack, any player may add scroll effects to the stack after wounds are determined that will resolve before the wounds are delivered. This allows scrolls (such as Strong Medicine) to mitigate wounds before they "land" on a creature. This is also why a zimby fated to die from incoming wounds can still channel a witchery before it dies.

3. Players are free to allow combat rolls to resolve or allow wounds to be delivered before using scrolls if it suits them simply by allowing these effects to resolve before putting anything else on the stack. [Perhaps you want the incoming wounds to thin out your big, multi-tribe column before you cast that Eviction scroll on yourself?]

4. ALL SCROLL EFFECTS ON THE STACK WILL TAKE EFFECT -- regardless of whether or not the channeling zimbie is still alive at the time of the scroll effect resolution.

As an example, suppose you have 1 zimby fighting a thug and the die rolls resolve in such a way that the thug outrolls the zimby by 1. If you had the right card, you could add a scroll effect to the stack to modify the zimby's brutality before wounds are determined -- perhaps giving the zimby +1 so that the combat rolls are equal. You may also let the combat rolls stand, determine that 1 wound is incoming for the zimby, and let that wound go on the stack... but before the wound is delivered to the zimby, you could place a scroll effect on the stack that reduces wounds to that zimby (like Lil' Bits o' Armor) and thereby spare the zimby.

There is a pretty thorough example of the stack in this thread that you may find helpful.

I hope this helps you out!

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Knauseder
Austria
Lochen
flag msg tools
Thank you so much! Got it!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.