$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Quartermaster General: 1914» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mustard Gas query rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Selwyn Ward
United Kingdom
Tunbridge Wells
Kent
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The German 'Mustard Gas' is used as an example on p.17 of the rules. The card refers to 'your choice' (i.e.: German player's choice) of the 'countries' in the space but the explanation in the rulebook describes the situation as if the card referred to 'power' rater than countries. Should the card be read as specifying 'power' rather than 'country' or is this an example where, if there was both a French and Italian army in the space, the German player could insist on the specific country card that should be discarded?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Brody
United States
Woodstock
New York
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you're right. It doesn't come up too often, so no one pointed in out in playtesting...but I should have thought that one through better!

When I make an FAQ I'll add this.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Mitchell
United Kingdom
Enfield
Middlesex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
On the same card, does "you initiate a battle" mean the effect can't be used in a counterattack?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Witch Lord
msg tools
mbmbmb
From Page 29 of the Rulebook (emphasis added):

Quote:
Counterattack

Counterattack is a special Prepare symbol which can be used by a defender after an unsuccessful battle. If an attacker is unable to discard sufficient Sustain Land Battle cards to remove the defending Armies (and therefore gives up the battle), a defending country with a prepared Counterattack card can reveal and discard it to initiate a land battle against the space from which the attack against it was initiated.


Since a counterattack initiates a retaliatory battle, Mustard Gas can be used in the context of one.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.