Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Erik Nicely
United States
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I've made an incredible discovery. The woman that I married last year agreed to play games with me. She's good too.

I am a miniatures wargamer that started with Ogre in 1982. Been playing mostly science fiction games ever since, a couple years ago I started playing historicals. I game on average 5 times a month. My wife never played D&D as a kid, not one game of any "specialty" boardgame. She does like Star Wars, the Spider Man and X Men movies, and she watches Battlestar Galactica with me. She has an MA and has worked as a professional journalist. She's smarter than the average bear. She was a master-ranked online Scrabble player but has given it a rest. Besides my minis games we only had Monoploy and the Scrabble board as "common ground" for gaming. I always win at Monopoly, she beats me mercilessly at Scrabble. I wanted to play games with her. Most girls don't like minis games so I haven't tried to get her involved.

She agreed to play a game I picked. I thought "no wargames" would be a good basis to start from, picked up the Age of Mythology boardgame. She played it, liked it, played a couple more times. Then I obtained Star Wars Epic Duels in a trade. In 2 days we played about 10 games of that.

W/L Record:
Age of Mythology
Amber (her): 3-0
Me: 0-3

SW Epic Duels:
Amber: 7-3
Me: 3-7

She not only likes the games she's good at them. I've been gaming for 25 years, I never let anyone win and she beats me. I very rarely lose at the minis games I play regularly. I knew she was smart when we first got together, I didn't know she had any kind of competitive nature. I knew I had a good catch too, I didn't know she would move into the gaming area of my life.