$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Wars: Armada» Forums » Rules

Subject: Admiral ackbar ability and GR-75 Combat Retrofits rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kalbe Troben
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Does Admiral ackbar ability works whit GR-75 Combat Retrofits? GR-75 dosent have any dice in side zones but will Acbar gives two red for them?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig C
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems like it should work.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andri Erlingsson
Iceland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No, it won't work. Ackbar adds the 2 red dice to the attack pool and since the GR-75 doesn't have any armaments it doesn't gather an attack pool.
Ackbar would only give the GR-75 the dice if his ability said to increase the targets battery armaments by 2 red dice.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Taylor
United States
Downers Grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Klarkashton wrote:
No, it won't work. Ackbar adds the 2 red dice to the attack pool and since the GR-75 doesn't have any armaments it doesn't gather an attack pool.
Ackbar would only give the GR-75 the dice if his ability said to increase the targets battery armaments by 2 red dice.


Just wanted to note that this is correct. Check out the rules reference guide section on making attacks for verification. Basically you need to roll your initial battery first and then later on you can use add effects (like Ackbar, Concentrate Fire, etc.). If at any point your total dice in the pool is 0, the attack is canceled. When you gather your initial battery of 0 dice, it's canceled immediately before you get to the add step.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, all of that seems needlessly complicated. Thanks FFG for creating more arguments at the table.

Thanks very much for explaining, guys.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig C
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's complicated, but also worded in a way that keeps the Transports and Ackbar from breaking the game.

Although it'd be entertaining to see someone fielding 20 of them and Ackbar in a 400-pt list, and piloting them without running into each other.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Taylor
United States
Downers Grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
cmontgo2 wrote:
Well, all of that seems needlessly complicated. Thanks FFG for creating more arguments at the table.

Thanks very much for explaining, guys.

I wouldn't say it's needlessly complicated. FFG tries to fit as much information into as few words as they can so they can keep rules fitting the small upgrade cards. When it comes to making attacks, there are a lot of small steps you go through and the rules reference guide spells out how you do those. This is to make sure both the attacker and defender understand when they can use their abilities. Because there is a step where the attacker uses all of his add, reroll, modify, and spend dice effects, Ackbar's "add" ability triggers then. It's actually not that bad.

The main issues come from players who aren't (yet) familiar with the specific steps or terminology and thus arguments can arise. This is one of the downsides (in my opinion) of FFG's "one learner book, one big glossary book" method; FFG believes that people who finish the starter game just tear into the glossary book and memorize its contents but the glossary is about as interesting and palatable as room temperature milk.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.