$5.00
$15.00
Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
59 Posts
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: I got one shot.... getting my wife and her friends into board games rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Noway Jose
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My wife and I are having a couple over friday who don't normally play board games but are big video gamers and I want to get them hooked so we can play games on the regular, i'm a sad board game hobbyist who have no friends to play with , all my friends prefer getting drunk and shooting guns unfortunately.

Problem is i want to actually appease my wife more then anyone else including her friends coming for dinner and i have a feeling if there is a game she enjoys they will enjoy. She is one of those people who is contagious with her fun and laughter... why i married her! I am going to bank on that.

With her love of Vikings (thats my wife!) i believe i have narrowed it down to the following:

A Feast for Odin: She really likes Caverna and Agricola but i am afraid of the complexity level of this game for people newer to board games...

Blood Rage: THe viking theme is strong, little concerned about being able to player eliminate/ruin peoples time. My wife likes games where she can make a plan and execute it, hates it when people "mess with her shit" as she says. WHy she hates game of thrones card game so much, so much sabotage.

Champions of Midgard: She is a big fan of Lord of Waterdeep and i feel like this might be the right balance to get everyone engaged without feeling to adversarial.

Am I missing anything? I am really open to opinions thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L W
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I find that party games are the best gateway games for the post dinner and drinks "you mean like monopoly?" crowd. I have yet to see even the most reticent person not get into Codenames.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide