$60.00
$20.00
calpurnio pison

rafelbunyol
valencia
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
hi!

i'm just encounter powderpot, which says "after you act, powderpot deals 1d4 poison damage to each character at a random occupied open location".

all the characters are at the same location where powderpot is. so, if powderpot is defeated, is the location closed (he is a villain) and the power has no effect? or does the "after you act" take precedence over the closing of the location?

edit: improving the subject.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: powderpot powers
"After you act" is part of the encounter. And before you technically defeat Powderpot. And thus well before his location closes if you defeat him. So you will all take damage.

Encountering a Villain
Attempt to temporarily close open locations.
Encounter the villain.
If you defeat the villain, close the villain’s location.
Check to see whether the villain escapes.

Encountering a Card
Apply any effects that happen when you encounter a card.
Apply any evasion effects.
Apply any effects that happen before you act.
Attempt the check.
Attempt the next check, if needed.
Apply any effects that happen after you act.
Resolve the encounter.

If we merge those together....

Encountering a Villain
Attempt to temporarily close open locations.
Encounter the villain.
-Apply any effects that happen when you encounter a card.
-Apply any evasion effects.
-Apply any effects that happen before you act.
-Attempt the check.
-Attempt the next check, if needed.
-Apply any effects that happen after you act. <-Powderpots' power triggers here.
-Resolve the encounter.
If you defeat the villain, close the villain’s location. <-The location becomes closed here.
Check to see whether the villain escapes.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
calpurnio pison

rafelbunyol
valencia
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: powderpot powers
thanks for the clarification.

powderpot has another power that says "if powderpot is defeated, ..."

when is this power triggered in the sequence? i assume in "attempt the check" (if he is obviously defeated), but better making sure about that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: powderpot powers
calpurnio1973 wrote:
thanks for the clarification.

powderpot has another power that says "if powderpot is defeated, ..."

when is this power triggered in the sequence? i assume in "attempt the check" (if he is obviously defeated), but better making sure about that.


"If defeated" actually occurs during the "resolve the encounter" step. That is when a card is declared defeated or undefeated.

Just like henchmen have "if defeated, you may immediately attempt to close this location" and you wouldn't do that until you are resolving the encounter, this power wouldn't trigger until you are resolving the encounter.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
calpurnio pison

rafelbunyol
valencia
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: powderpot powers
thanks for the reply, Andrew.

the order of powers at the powderpot card doesn't help to see it. if there is any designer watching this thread, i would suggest him/her that the order of powers should match the order of sequence.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, I actually noticed the same thing when I was looking at Powderpot because of your question.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.