Subject: New to the game, what expansions to buy? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ed Farias
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I'm brand new to LOTR LCG (I know, late to the party) and I am really enjoying the core set, well at least the first scenario. The other seems kind of hard without more cards, so that leaves me to my question.

Many of the earlier expansions/adventure packs seem to be out of print, like The Hunt For Gollum Adventure Pack. I can pick up the last 2 or 3 from that cycle with relative ease, but the earlier ones cost too much to make it worth it.

So in late 2016, what should I buy first to go with the core set and help me migrate out of noobness .

Thanks
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Buchholz
United States
Middleton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Welcome to the game:
If you need some inspiration for the core decks to take on the second scenario check out the hall of Beorn deck lists. NEar the bottom has builds and explains how they work from just the Core to handle the scenarios. IT is most instructive and gets your own creativity going.
https://hallofbeorn.wordpress.com/decks/
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Farias
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you, I will do that!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Broderick
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Here you go, fella: https://talesfromthecards.wordpress.com/2013/09/13/new-playe...

Have fun reading.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Farias
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
cornishlee wrote:

Perfect, also exactly what I needed. Much appreciated.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Farias
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well most of what I read seem to point to getting Khazad-Dum expansion, but of course that is out of print as well and can only be found a premium.