Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Zimby Mojo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Immunity rolls timing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin Knauseder
Austria
Lochen
flag msg tools
Are immunity rolls by the crown carrier also put on the stack or are the witcheries he rolls against resolved immediately? For example can the crown carrier, if his immunity roll fails still respond to the cast witchery with a scroll card from his hand?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Felli
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Think of the Crown's witchery immunity like an "anti-magic cloak" around the Crown carrier that works half the time, on average. That means that:

1. the witchery has to target the Crown carrier,
2. the witchery has to resolve so that its effect manifests,
3. the witchery has to bypass the Crown's "anti-magic cloak" to affect the Crown carrier.

So, the witchery resolution is part of the stack but the Crown carrier's immunity roll is not -- it is part of the witchery resolution.

As for stack mechanics, suppose a single red zimby is carrying the Crown and there is a blue zimby two tiles away with clear line of sight. Suppose that the red zimby casts Big Bits o' Map on itself and, in response, the blue zimby casts Blow Guns on the red zimby with the Crown. The stack looks like...

[Top of stack]
Blow Guns (targeting red)
Big Bits o' Map (targeting red)
[Bottom of stack]

... the players let the stack start to resolve. Blow Guns resolves and the red zimby checks its immunity from the Crown. It rolls a 2. Success! Blow Guns fizzles out when it hits the red zimby's "anti-magic cloak." The angry blue zimby, having seen its Blow Guns fizzle away, channels Lil' Death Curse in response, targeting the red zimby and putting the Lil' Death Curse effect of the stack. This is an example of rebuilding the stack on the fly. The stack is now...

[Top of stack]
Lil' Death Curse (targeting red)
Big Bits o' Map (targeting red)
[Bottom of stack]

... the players let the stack start to resolve. Lil' Death Curse resolves and the red zimby checks its immunity from the Crown. It rolls a 5. Failure! Lil' Death Curse hits the red zimby, bypasses its "anti-magic cloak," and kills it! No one else uses a scroll in response, so the red zimby's Big Bits o' Map goes off. But the target of that witchery -- the red zimby -- is dead, so the effect is wasted...

Does that help clarify things?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Knauseder
Austria
Lochen
flag msg tools
It sure does! But,could the red Zimby have played a scroll card to nullify that wound, like for example some kind of armour? In other words, does the witchery for which the immunity roll failed occur right away, or is the red zimby able to respond but simply not immune as soon as the witchery he failed against resolves?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Felli
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes! Red could certainly do that because, had the immunity failed, the wound itself would go on the stack, thereby giving red the opportunity to respond with its own witchery... Of course, any witchery red casts on itself might also fail because of the Crown!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Knauseder
Austria
Lochen
flag msg tools
Once more. THANK YOU!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.