Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Fehr
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Hi there! Follow my gaming exploits on Twitter (fehrmeister)
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm very interested in this title, but I'm pretty new to wargaming, and I'm wondering how this "simulation" (as it's touted to be) works. I know that there are a lot of games out there where the victor is predetermined since the game is fairly scripted and historically accurate - in other words, the challenge for the one side isn't to win since the chances of that are slim to none, but rather the challenge is to do as well as possible in a losing effort and to watch how tweaks to historical strategy change the course of a battle.

How much is Europe Engulfed like that? Do the Axis have a reasonable shot at winning? How much leeway is given in the players' ability to change the course of history and try "far-out" strategies?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Heberer
United States
Lake Stevens
WA
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Boy, that escalated quickly. I mean that really got out of hand fast.
mbmbmbmbmb
The way this game deals with being grounded in reality yet offering both players a chance to win is by making the victory condition time based. If the Axis player can keep the war from ending beyond the historical date of ending the axis wins.

In the tournament scenario, there are objectives which give each player VPs, and you don't play out the beginning and very end of the war. You catch Germany right before they make their thrust into Russia, and get to see the wave recede. You also have to deal with Allied invaders, since a victory point available to the Allies is to liberate Paris before the game ends.

So, in short, the game allows either side to win, but "winning" is a different term for the two sides.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Carroll
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
Soli Deo Gloria!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
i7dealer wrote: