Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Random Encounters» Forums » Rules

Subject: Couple rule questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam
United States
Kansas City
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
So we had a couple things that we weren't able to easily answer:

1: Can you only buy the loot of the level you're on? Ex: after defeating the 1st boss, can we ONLY buy silver loot, or can we buy bronze loot if we'd like?

2: If a hero is KO'd, can they be healed mid encounter?

3: Just to clarify, when you get new loot mid-encounter (IE: Tumble), can she immediately equip it? Can she give it to someone else?

4: Can a player change their equipment mid-encounter (IE: equip a 2 str mallet instead of a 2 magic/dex staff?) assuming that they had both pieces of equipment at the start of the encounter.

That's all I can remember for now... I'll come back with more as I think of them or they come up!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Garrett
United States
Victoria
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sure thing!

1) You can only buy Loot for the upcoming Level. So if you just beat Level 1 and are entering the Caves, then you can only buy the Silver Loot.

2) A Hero cannot be revived mid-encounter (unless someone uses the Broken Promises item).

3) A Player cannot equip loot obtained in mid-encounter. The only exception to this is Beatrix's Battle Ability!

4) Players cannot change out their equipment mid-encounter.

If you have questions in the future you can ask on our Facebook page - we are more active on there and it might get answered faster.

Hope y'all are enjoying the game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Riley
United States
Glendale
Arizona
flag msg tools
I Am One With The Force
badge
The Force Is With Me
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So does that mean items like healing potions can only be used outside of battle?

If they can be used during battle, does using an item take that player's turn?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Garrett
United States
Victoria
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Items can be used in Battle, but it takes up a Player's turn to Use the Item. They can also be used between Battles.

The Parrying Glove is a special case item that can be used as a reaction to getting Attacked. The Torch can be used at the start of an Encounter to discard a Monster.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam
United States
Kansas City
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
First off, thanks for the replies Joshua!

About the torch, it says "discard," so does that mean the player doesn't get to keep the encounter card?

Also, does the leader always keep an encounter card after passing it, regardless of it being a trap, event, or monster? I only ask because the monster cards were the only ones that the rulebook specified as keeping.

So essentially, everyone just needs to be the leader twice before you go after the boss?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Garrett
United States
Victoria
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No problem!

Essentially yes - everyone needs to be the Leader twice before battling a boss!

When the Torch defeats a Monster, the Player DOES keep the Monster as though they had defeated it normally.

The Leader always keeps the Encounter card (including Traps and Events - this is really just to help the players keep track of how many Encounters they have faced). The only exceptions are when you are SKIPPING an event (like if the Party decides not to purchase Loot at the Wandering Merchant). They simply shuffle him back in and the same Leader draws another Encounter card.

When it comes to Monster Nests and Ambush cards - those get shuffled back in (so they have a chance to occur again) and the Monsters are kept to keep track of the group's Encounters.

If we are ever quiet on here (sometimes we forget about our BGG page as most of our followers are on Facebook!) then feel free to ask on our Facebook page! We are very active on there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr Osterman
United States
Clarkston
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
While we're talking, can we delay the boss?

My first few plays I had bad encounter draws and found myself stocked on items to discard encounters and such but short on required equipment to really be ready to tackle and defeat a boss. A few more encouters felt needed to really round out my gear.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Garrett
United States
Victoria
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's technically two Encounter cards per Player, but hey - I can't stop you! You do whatchu gotta do. Are you facing the normal mode bosses? The "Threats" are the Hard Mode versions. If you're party has all equipment slots (Weapon, Armor, Trinket, Familiar) then you should be okay. And don't forget level up tokens!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr Osterman
United States
Clarkston
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay. I'll try to get it out to the table tonight and see what's what. We're mid move so all the games are at the new house (I moved them first) and we're still living at the old house. I ask because in one of my single player/ two character play throughs I got to the level 2 boss and I could barely hurt it. Even rolling 5's I'd still only be doing like 2 damage per round while it was doing like 8-13 back to me. I blamed it on having no decent equipment from the 4 previous encounters.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Van Howe
msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
RegPeepsGaming wrote:


4) Players cannot change out their equipment mid-encounter.


I made a house rule for our 2 player game that you can change out equipment, but it takes up your action for your turn. That way, when we fought a creature that was immune to one of our strong stats, we could at least TRY and do damage to it by swapping equipment.

-Matt
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Garrett
United States
Victoria
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Now that you mention that, I think at one point we actually did have it set up that way - but we never found a single person who did it in all our playtests so we left it out! We approve of this house rule! =)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob H
United States
California
flag msg tools
RegPeepsGaming wrote:
No problem!

Essentially yes - everyone needs to be the Leader twice before battling a boss!

When the Torch defeats a Monster, the Player DOES keep the Monster as though they had defeated it normally.

The Leader always keeps the Encounter card (including Traps and Events - this is really just to help the players keep track of how many Encounters they have faced). The only exceptions are when you are SKIPPING an event (like if the Party decides not to purchase Loot at the Wandering Merchant). They simply shuffle him back in and the same Leader draws another Encounter card.

When it comes to Monster Nests and Ambush cards - those get shuffled back in (so they have a chance to occur again) and the Monsters are kept to keep track of the group's Encounters.


In regards to the merchant, if the players buy something, does he still count towards the "2 encounter" goal? If so, can the players just buy nothing rather than "skipping"?

Monster nests are a bit confusing. I get that the nest gets shuffled back in. However the second monster encountered goes to the next player? This seems to potentially create a situation where players will be at greater than the encounter number needed before the boss shows. Namely, in a two player game, nest grants a monster encounter card to both players when player two already had one. The second player then is leader and gains a third card while the other player only has one.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Garrett
United States
Victoria
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct on both of these questions.

The Merchant counts as an Encounter IF they players sell Loot. If they choose not to sell anything, then simply draw a different Encounter card in its place.

Yes, it does create an additional Encounter towards the grand total - but you also get an additional Loot! Bosses are activated after each character has at LEAST 2 Encounter cards.

That secondary Monster card gets passed to the next Player. The Player who drew Monster Nest does not get both Monster cards as their Encounters, so in the situation you described, each player would have 2 Encounters, not 1 and 3.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob H
United States
California
flag msg tools
I believe the 1 and 3 situation was when player one had an encounter already. Player two drew the nest. Once the nest was resolved, player one had 2 encounters and player two had 1 encounter. When player one went again was the 1 and 3 situation, where 4 encounters were held by players, but player two had 1 and player one had 3. We continued another round until each had at least two encounters (player one with 3 and player two with 2). As I understand your response, this was the correct way to play.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Garrett
United States
Victoria
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chaplin717 wrote:
I believe the 1 and 3 situation was when player one had an encounter already. Player two drew the nest. Once the nest was resolved, player one had 2 encounters and player two had 1 encounter. When player one went again was the 1 and 3 situation, where 4 encounters were held by players, but player two had 1 and player one had 3. We continued another round until each had at least two encounters (player one with 3 and player two with 2). As I understand your response, this was the correct way to play.


Well the Monster Nest card does not count at the Encounter card - the 2 Monsters are kept by players to track progress.

The Monster Nest card gets shuffled back into the deck.

So if Bob and Joan are in the Forest, and Joan has an Encounter card and Bob draws the Monster Nest, at the end of the fight they would both get a Monster card as their Encounters. So Bob has 1 and Joan has 2. Since Joan already has 2, Bob is simply the Leader again and draws another Encounter card.

Hope that helps!
-Josh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.