Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader: Starter Kit #3» Forums » Rules

Subject: To Hit / To Kill Example rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: asljr_rsp [+] [View All]
Laszlo Somoskôi
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi!

ASL SK #3 Rulebook, page 25. To Hit / To Kill Example. 2nd paragraph:
"The AP TK# for the Russian 76L Gun at range 3 is 12 on the AP to Kill Table."

In the AP (APCR/APDS) To Kill Table, the Rus 76L (APCR) have a 13(15) at range 3.
Is there a mispint in the rulebook, or I don't understand something in the example.

Thanks.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Roach
Canada
Brandon
Manitoba
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
i dont have asl sk but it sounds to me like you are getting confused with ammo types. apcr and apds are different than just plain old ap. could that be the problem?

APDS-armour piercing discarding sabot
APCR-armour piercing composite rigid
AP-armour piercing,(solid shot)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laszlo Somoskôi
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't know. :)

There is only one chart in the SK3 about AP, and the exact name of the chart is:
"AP (APCR/APDS) to Kill Table". So I really confused. :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Vater
Germany
Cologne
NRW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: To Hit / To Kill Example MISPRINT
laszlo

don't panic, you got it all right - it's just that
the KV-1E had a plain '76', which is actually missing
in the ASLSK chart. so the text is refering to the wrong
gun, the 'long 76', which was the MA of the later
KV tanks and that's all.

cheers,

jan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harald Torvatn
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have not seen the table, but I bveleive that there are two entries for Russian 76L: One just labeled "76L", and one labeled "76L (APRC)". The former is for AP, the second is for APCR.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laszlo Somoskôi
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks guys!

one more question: I have one unit of KV-2 withou
any of the turret symbols. is it correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Vater
Germany
Cologne
NRW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
laszlo

yep, correct. the vehicle notes clarify that the
turret was that cumbersome to turn it didn't even
qualify for a restricted slow traverse in
game terms.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laszlo Somoskôi
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
tanks. :) VHRT: very heavy russian turret. :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Richardson
United States
Lindsborg
Kansas
flag msg tools
mb
Laszlo Somoskôi wrote:
Is there a mispint in the rulebook, or I don't understand something in the example.

The example is wrong.

The illustration on page 24 shows the KV-1E, with a 76 MA, but there is no KV-1E included in ASLSK #3. It was originally going to be included, but was replaced with the KV-1 M41 (76L MA), but no one thought to go back and change the examples.

So the text you noted talks about a 76L, which is correct for a KV-1 M41, but uses a TK# of 12, which is actually for a Russian 76 - a gun that is not on the To Kill chart because the KV-1E was dropped. The example should use a TK# of 13, and the illustration should show a KV-1 M41 with a 76L. Some of the other numbers in the example may be off as well, because they used a 12 instead of a 13 for the TK#.

There are, unfortunately, a number of errors in the examples. They were the last part of the rulebook to be completed and the proofreaders (I was one of them) had only a couple of days in which to check them over. In my case, I had just enough time to read through them once, and I missed lots of stuff. For instance, in the example on page 28, I caught that the text mentioned a 6-2-8 squad when there were only three 4-4-7s pictured... but I missed that the Germans cannot use their 20L IFE FP in CC (must be less than 15mm).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laszlo Somoskôi
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks Jay! everything is clear now!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.