BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: Convention Demos rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dustin Crouch

Tennessee
msg tools
designer
DOUBLE POST - this is in general gaming too, but trying to get some feedback. Thanks.

Going to GMX this weekend in Nashville to demo our game that we have been working on for well over a year... It's in good shape and we love to play it, but getting new people interested seems like a daunting task.

I am kind of new to this side of the equation and had a question for the seasoned gamers out there.

When you a see a new game being pitched or sit down to a demo of a game what kind of things do you want to see and hear? What do you look for to further the conversation/interest to where you would want to back it on kickstarter?

Thanks for any Feedback!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Warren Fitzpatrick
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've seen lots of ways people have pushed their game, but the neatest I found was the makers of Hope City (just successfully funded) had their game able to be checked out for the night as long as you provided feedback the next day. THey wanted cold plays using just their rules, and that made a lot of sense. I didn't take them up on the offer (I'd already had my night's scheduled), but I remembered them and that led to me making several passes on their kickstarter.

Outside of that tact, I find theme is important to get me interested, speed of play, is someone available to teach it. Also, just basic salesmanship - are you open and friendly, willing to chat and answer questions, do you approach them as opposed to expecting them to come to you. Not pushy, but do you show interest, smile, etc. All of those are helpful.

wf

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gil Hova
United States
Jersey City
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb