Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Trek: Attack Wing» Forums » Rules

Subject: Free actions out of phase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas Plummer
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
So We have a question about whether you can take a free action after hitting an obstacle or another ship moving, if it is done on another ships turn.
Specifically, can a ship that has done so use the free action granted by Martok8?

Card text:
Quote:
After you move, choose 1 friendly ship within Range 1-2 whose Captain has a lower Skill than Martok's. The chosen ship may immediately perform 1 free Action.


Obstacle/ship text:
Quote:
...Skip this ship's "Perform Actions" step... .


Based on this, we think the free action would not be part of the Perform Actions step, and therefore would go through, but we are unsure. just looking for some confirmation here.

Also looking for confirmation that any action can be performed as a free action from Martok's ability.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Hare
msg tools
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/13270741#13270741

#5. A ship that lost its perforn actions step for whatever reason (say a collision) cannot lerform any free actions. Even outside of the normal actions step.

And Martok is that sweet. No restrictions on the type of action granted as long as you aren't trying to perform the same one twice.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Johnsen
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
It's also in the Tournament Rules, Additional Rules section:

7. A ship may not perform any free actions and must skip its "Perform Action" step if it collides with another ship. Ships whose bases are touching may target each other during the Combat Phase, but must still obey firing arc requirements.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nico
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Very interesting, as it is the complete opposite ruling as with X-Wing!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Redfearn
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:
Cut_ wrote:
Very interesting, as it is the complete opposite ruling as with X-Wing!


There are quite a few differences from X-wing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.