Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Fields of Green» Forums » Rules

Subject: How to count distance? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ilse
Belgium
Kortenberg
Vlaams-Brabant
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How is distance counted? Can you make corners? Or do you count in a straight line? I had the farmhouse building and started wonder How it was counted because if you're allowed to make turns counting distance you can score negative points with this card?

Thanks meeple
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
BibKamp318
Belgium
Beerse [near Turnhout]
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ilse23 wrote:
How is distance counted? Can you make corners? Or do you count in a straight line? I had the farmhouse building and started wonder How it was counted because if you're allogeen to take turns counting distance you can score negatieve pointes with this card?

Thanks meeple
Take vertical / horizontal steps NOT diagonally
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Inno Van
United States
San Francisco/East Bay
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also called "orthogonal, but not diagonal".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ilse
Belgium
Kortenberg
Vlaams-Brabant
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I know that but can you go 1 horizontal + 1 vertical for a distance of two?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko Pe
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yes, this is allowed, as the rules stated this (see quote)

Quote:
Distance is counted through built locations, orthogonally, with each card counting as a distance of 1.


Orthogonally means vertical and horizontal combined
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ilse
Belgium
Kortenberg
Vlaams-Brabant
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nifdgad wrote:
yes, this is allowed, as the rules stated this (see quote)

Quote:
Distance is counted through built locations, orthogonally, with each card counting as a distance of 1.


Orthogonally means vertical and horizontal combined


Thank you
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Isabella Boon
Belgium
Grimbergen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanx all! And Thanx to Rahdo :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Whisper
France
Salon de Provence
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Dear all,

Just to confirm and be sure we are not doing any mistake in the French version of the rulebook, could you please confirm that you can have a maximum of 1 card between a water tower and the field which is using the water token :

Distance 0 = Water Tower
Distance 1 = An orthogonally adjacent card (sharing an edge)
Distance 2 = Another adjacent card

The field have to be either at distance 1 or 2 to receive water from this water tower.

Thanks for your help

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vangelis Bagiartakis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can confirm that what you write is correct.

For Distance 2 you could also state it like "An adjacent card to an adjacent card"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Whisper
France
Salon de Provence
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Many thanks for that. The French rules are now online and coherent with the original ones.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedro I
Portugal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I understood correctly we can use the below as graphic help:
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.