GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,178 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
21 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Confederate Rebellion» Forums » Rules

Subject: making sure I understand Confederate movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Shockley
United States
Seffner
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So I just placed an order for this game after playing and enjoying David Kershaw's excellent Solitaire Caesar. The prospect of a solitaire ACW grand strategy game that plays in an hour or two has me quite excited.

Before I read the rules and play, I just want to make sure I have the rules regarding Confederate movement and victory correct. My understanding is that when a Confederate army leaves either a neutral or union area, it leaves behind a unit, but that only union areas (and not neutrals) count towards the four areas required to secure a Confederate victory.

Have I got that right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Kershaw
Ireland
Belfast
Northern Ireland
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
WARGAME!
badge
Lines of Battle: Quatre Bras 1815. Brunswick hussar.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If memory serves, yes. Neutral areas were no use for Confederate victory.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Rusch
United States
West Hills
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The only time a Confederate General needs to leave an Army behind is when it is moving from a neutral Region, i.e. Missouri or Kentucky. See rulebook pg 6 the paragraph beneath Exceptions last sentence which states, "If a General is in neutral Missouri or Kentucky, at least one Army must be left behind."

WRT victory determination you are correct. The four regions must be Union Regions, i.e. the light blue land regions on the map.

Edit - Based upon errata described in previous posts in this forum Confederate Generals must also leave behind at least 1 Army in Union Regions.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.