$20.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Falling Sky: The Gallic Revolt Against Caesar» Forums » Rules

Subject: Counterattack query rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Norell
New Zealand
AUCKLAND
flag msg tools
mbmb
Does a fort count for halving losses if the Romans are counterattacked, or only if they are the original defender?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob S.
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just for the original defender in the battle, similar to a defending Gaul with a citadel.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Norell
New Zealand
AUCKLAND
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks for that. So if you take the offensive, you cannot fall back on your fortifications if the enemy counterattacks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex P
France
La Plaine St-Denis
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Makes sense, you're out attacking and so you can't benefit from your fortifications.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Norell
New Zealand
AUCKLAND
flag msg tools
mbmb
Further to the above, if Ambiorix or Caesar are counterattacking, do they still count one loss per warband and two losses per legion respectively, or does this only occur if they are conducting the initial attack?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex P
France
La Plaine St-Denis
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Follow the included flow chart or, alternately, read the text for losses literally:

Quote:
A Defender taking such Losses when Caesar is Attacking must take two per Legion instead of just one per Legion.


Quote:
A Defender taking such Losses when Ambiorix (yellow, Belgic Leader) is Attacking must take one for each Belgic Warband, not just ½.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E V
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe Paul's question stems from doubts about the Attacker/Defender status: when the Defender counterattacks, does it become an Attacker?

Well, according to the Key Terms Index (page #30), I think the answer is no: who starts a Battle is the Attacker and the target Faction is the Defender, till the end of that Battle.

And the Battle Procedure flowchart is a lifesaver
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex P
France
La Plaine St-Denis
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If the attacker changed then why even use the term? :)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Norell
New Zealand
AUCKLAND
flag msg tools
mbmb
Yes, that was my initial concern: whether the counterattacker becomes the 'attacker.' The battle flowchart says 'Attacker takes normal losses', but again this is ambiguous.

So, the general opinion is that a counterattacker loses any advantage they have as the 'attacker', correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E V
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the "counterattacker" is just a helpless Defender.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
pnorell wrote:
Yes, that was my initial concern: whether the counterattacker becomes the 'attacker.' The battle flowchart says 'Attacker takes normal losses', but again this is ambiguous.

So, the general opinion is that a counterattacker loses any advantage they have as the 'attacker', correct?

You cannot lose something that you never had in the first place.

The rules never, at any point, call the counterattacking side "Attacker". The side that counterattacks is consistently referred to as the Defender, which inflicts losses on the Attacker during the Counterattack step of the Battle resolution.

The Defender does not benefit from any Attacker abilities, just like the Attacker doesn't get any of the Defender's benefits (such as Forts or Citadels).

Regards,
Oerjan
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Norell
New Zealand
AUCKLAND
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.